We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but slow service and modest portions”

Zippys Restaurant Kapahulu
Ranked #516 of 2,392 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service and modest portions”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Zippys in Kapahulu offers good local favorites like all of the other Zippys restaurants on Oahu. They are open late and you can always rely on the consistency of their products.

On the downside this restaurant is very slow in customer service. Portion sizes for all Zippys restaurants are measured and not the least bit hearty. I prefer the Kaimuki outlet if we're going to Zippys because they seem a bit more organized and offer better customer service. Just my opinion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esakimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    19
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“All that its CRACKED out to be”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Decently priced, quick local food.

Try the chili!
The bento box is a good choice too.
They have daily specials. Look out for them.
It is all that its CRACKED out to be

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aimeex418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Alway's Zippy's for chili”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It doesn't matter what Zippy's you visit while on the island of Oahu...everyone of them has the friendliest staff and the best "darn" chili....with cheese and onion of course...and their corn bread along with the chili is very good too...great place for all family members...JUST CAN'T GO WRONG AT "ZIPPY'S"

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Hawaiian fast food”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stopped by Zippy's for an early breakfast on our way to Pearl Harbor. I would have to say it is darn good breakfast food served quickly (at least by Hawaiian standards for quickness).

I ordered the Spam and eggs served with white rice. I liked the quaint combination and will have to make it more often at home.

My wife and I ate for less than $15 and it was a nice change of pace from the dreadfully boring hotel continental breakfast. If you want high cuisine, then go somewhere where you can spend $50 a plate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

You know it's a real Hawaiian restaurant when there's spam on the menu! Also has very good pies and cakes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bon-Voyage-747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zippys Restaurant Kapahulu also viewed

 

Been to Zippys Restaurant Kapahulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing