We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hawaiian fast food”

Zippys Restaurant Kapahulu
Ranked #508 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Diner, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Indiana
Level Contributor
202 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Hawaiian fast food”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stopped by Zippy's for an early breakfast on our way to Pearl Harbor. I would have to say it is darn good breakfast food served quickly (at least by Hawaiian standards for quickness).

I ordered the Spam and eggs served with white rice. I liked the quaint combination and will have to make it more often at home.

My wife and I ate for less than $15 and it was a nice change of pace from the dreadfully boring hotel continental breakfast. If you want high cuisine, then go somewhere where you can spend $50 a plate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ordeal_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

You know it's a real Hawaiian restaurant when there's spam on the menu! Also has very good pies and cakes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bon-Voyage-747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You go for the chili.”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Zippy's chili & rice is to Hawaii what the Tommy chili-cheeseburger is L.A. It's greasy, artery clogging great chili. Health nuts stay away. I've also had their fried chicken which was okay. My son really liked the mushroom burger and had it twice. The teri-burger is a fail : ( Ah but the chili...Zippy's makes wonderful chili. Why don't they open one in L.A.? At least open one in Vegas at the Cal or Main Street. Come on guys! I don't want the frozen brick from Marukai. Bring us the real stuff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrell, Texas
Level Contributor
197 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Won't go back. Not awful, but better places to spend money.”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Didn't expect a lot here, but after reading reviews, we did expect more. Service was good, food just ok at best. 4 in our party and consensus was pretty much the same among all of us unfortunately-not that good. Would rather spend a little more and get better if had to make the choice again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greggtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW PA
Level Contributor
271 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“They have the answer to good food fast!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stopped in for a late evening snack and got mounds of good food cheap and fast! I'll go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank High_Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zippys Restaurant Kapahulu also viewed

 

Been to Zippys Restaurant Kapahulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing