We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I was a food critic.......”
Review of 12th Avenue Grill

12th Avenue Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
12th Avenue Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #126 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Harding Ave
Transit: Bus stops are on Kokohead ave just before the Waialae Ave intersection for #1 Kahala Mall-Kalihi transit center, #1L Hawaii Kai-Aala Park with limited stops, #3 Salt Lake #14 St Louis Hts/Maunalani Hts.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If I was a food critic.......”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If I was a food critic, I couldn't find enough unique (good) words to describe this place. Off the beaten path, and about 15 minutes from Waikiki, it is worth the effort to find this place. We tried a couple specials: duck ravioli and the fish chowder. Both were incredible. The pork chops were delicious. And the mac and cheese-YUM. But the fruit market dessert was to die for. We will have to hike Diamond Head twice tomorrow, but this dinner was worth it! They change locations in October. Supposedly just moving up the street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lkoontz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    83
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Felt like I was back in an east coast restaurant instead of in HI. Food was great and the waitstaff is very attentive and helpful. Locals seem to love it and it's a great little neighborhood find. Prices were great! Would have gone back again but they seemed to be well booked up. Go there if you can!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssalko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An absolute treat!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow. We were absolutely blown away by the service, food, and atmosphere of this hidden gem in the heart of downtown. It doesn't look like much outside, but step in and...it is clean, airy, and bright in the right places. The staff members know everything there is to know about the menu choices, and are glad to give you more information about them. You MUST make a reservation, or else get in line outside the door before it opens in the evening and hope for a bar seat. There are only 14 tables and 10 spots at the bar. But it is so very, very worth it. Take time to enjoy the dessert of the evening, especially. When we were there it was freshly made cheesecake with local poha berries in a light honey sauce. It was THE best cheesecake either of us had ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibly One of My Favorite Restaraunts Anywhere! (and I'm from San Francisco)”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'd characterize the food as hearty, and very ample portions.
The art and decor was really lovely.
The staff was helpful with respect to their recommendations, and they have that nice "aloha" thing goin' on.
There was just so much attention to detail and their efforts to provide an all-around fabulous experience.
I wish there were a 12th Avenue Grill in San Fran!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Popular Neighborhood Joint”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This somewhat surprising neighborhood hotspot is tucked amid nail salons, bodywork studios, and an array of other local businesses in a nondescript building that belies the culinary soul within. Locally sourced ingredients are used in interesting combinations, though there is also a hearty straightforwardness to the food here that is consistent with the informal decor and friendly service. Try the pork chop and beef tenderloin, both perfectly cooked. There is also a good international selection of wines at various price points.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 12th Avenue Grill also viewed

 

Been to 12th Avenue Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing