We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 12th Avenue Grill

12th Avenue Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
12th Avenue Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #135 of 2,260 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Harding Ave
Transit: Bus stops are on Kokohead ave just before the Waialae Ave intersection for #1 Kahala Mall-Kalihi transit center, #1L Hawaii Kai-Aala Park with limited stops, #3 Salt Lake #14 St Louis Hts/Maunalani Hts.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Felt like I was back in an east coast restaurant instead of in HI. Food was great and the waitstaff is very attentive and helpful. Locals seem to love it and it's a great little neighborhood find. Prices were great! Would have gone back again but they seemed to be well booked up. Go there if you can!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssalko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    76
    11
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“An absolute treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow. We were absolutely blown away by the service, food, and atmosphere of this hidden gem in the heart of downtown. It doesn't look like much outside, but step in and...it is clean, airy, and bright in the right places. The staff members know everything there is to know about the menu choices, and are glad to give you more information about them. You MUST make a reservation, or else get in line outside the door before it opens in the evening and hope for a bar seat. There are only 14 tables and 10 spots at the bar. But it is so very, very worth it. Take time to enjoy the dessert of the evening, especially. When we were there it was freshly made cheesecake with local poha berries in a light honey sauce. It was THE best cheesecake either of us had ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Possibly One of My Favorite Restaraunts Anywhere! (and I'm from San Francisco)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'd characterize the food as hearty, and very ample portions.
The art and decor was really lovely.
The staff was helpful with respect to their recommendations, and they have that nice "aloha" thing goin' on.
There was just so much attention to detail and their efforts to provide an all-around fabulous experience.
I wish there were a 12th Avenue Grill in San Fran!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Popular Neighborhood Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This somewhat surprising neighborhood hotspot is tucked amid nail salons, bodywork studios, and an array of other local businesses in a nondescript building that belies the culinary soul within. Locally sourced ingredients are used in interesting combinations, though there is also a hearty straightforwardness to the food here that is consistent with the informal decor and friendly service. Try the pork chop and beef tenderloin, both perfectly cooked. There is also a good international selection of wines at various price points.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Within the top 10, if not top 5 restaurants on Oahu right now.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I had been wanting to experience the farm to table fare at 12th Avenue Grill for a long time until I finally got to dive into their deep menu and wine list last week.

Reservations are needed as 12th Avenue Grill is ground zero for an area containing restaurants that are steadily increasing in popularity. This area is known to locals as Kaimuki.

Our waitress was Jen, a local girl, who provides top-notch service combined with a stellar personality.

My meal began with Maui Venison Terrine, a delicious Pinot Noir, followed by a perfectly grilled ribeye, and a delicious bread pudding to finish off the meal.

I left the restaurant full and very happy.

Check out their website and menu and I'm sure you'll find something that will catch your eye.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nateinusaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 12th Avenue Grill also viewed

 

Been to 12th Avenue Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing