We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!”
Review of 12th Avenue Grill

12th Avenue Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
12th Avenue Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #135 of 2,406 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Harding Ave
Transit: Bus stops are on Kokohead ave just before the Waialae Ave intersection for #1 Kahala Mall-Kalihi transit center, #1L Hawaii Kai-Aala Park with limited stops, #3 Salt Lake #14 St Louis Hts/Maunalani Hts.
Description: Farm to table American cooking with locally sourced, daily specials and a seasonal menu reflecting the best of Hawai'i's ranchers, farmers and fishermen. Our craft bar with hand cut ice and over 100 whiskies, barrel aged gins and rye as well as bitters, tinctures and syrups made from scratch make 12th Ave Grill a favorite locals' neighborhood bar. An Award winning wine list offering over 20 wines by the glass let you create perfect pairings with our bold and rustic dishes. Visit 12thavegrill.com to see our later night specials, happy hour and Family style prix fixe Sunday Suppers!
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Felt like I was back in an east coast restaurant instead of in HI. Food was great and the waitstaff is very attentive and helpful. Locals seem to love it and it's a great little neighborhood find. Prices were great! Would have gone back again but they seemed to be well booked up. Go there if you can!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ssalko2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    83
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“An absolute treat!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow. We were absolutely blown away by the service, food, and atmosphere of this hidden gem in the heart of downtown. It doesn't look like much outside, but step in and...it is clean, airy, and bright in the right places. The staff members know everything there is to know about the menu choices, and are glad to give you more information about them. You MUST make a reservation, or else get in line outside the door before it opens in the evening and hope for a bar seat. There are only 14 tables and 10 spots at the bar. But it is so very, very worth it. Take time to enjoy the dessert of the evening, especially. When we were there it was freshly made cheesecake with local poha berries in a light honey sauce. It was THE best cheesecake either of us had ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Possibly One of My Favorite Restaraunts Anywhere! (and I'm from San Francisco)”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I'd characterize the food as hearty, and very ample portions.
The art and decor was really lovely.
The staff was helpful with respect to their recommendations, and they have that nice "aloha" thing goin' on.
There was just so much attention to detail and their efforts to provide an all-around fabulous experience.
I wish there were a 12th Avenue Grill in San Fran!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very Popular Neighborhood Joint”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This somewhat surprising neighborhood hotspot is tucked amid nail salons, bodywork studios, and an array of other local businesses in a nondescript building that belies the culinary soul within. Locally sourced ingredients are used in interesting combinations, though there is also a hearty straightforwardness to the food here that is consistent with the informal decor and friendly service. Try the pork chop and beef tenderloin, both perfectly cooked. There is also a good international selection of wines at various price points.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelerhnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Within the top 10, if not top 5 restaurants on Oahu right now.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I had been wanting to experience the farm to table fare at 12th Avenue Grill for a long time until I finally got to dive into their deep menu and wine list last week.

Reservations are needed as 12th Avenue Grill is ground zero for an area containing restaurants that are steadily increasing in popularity. This area is known to locals as Kaimuki.

Our waitress was Jen, a local girl, who provides top-notch service combined with a stellar personality.

My meal began with Maui Venison Terrine, a delicious Pinot Noir, followed by a perfectly grilled ribeye, and a delicious bread pudding to finish off the meal.

I left the restaurant full and very happy.

Check out their website and menu and I'm sure you'll find something that will catch your eye.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nateinusaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 12th Avenue Grill also viewed

 

Been to 12th Avenue Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing