We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very overrated”
Review of Hau Tree Lanai

Hau Tree Lanai
Reserve with OpenTable
Hau Tree Lanai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Transit: Public Bus one block away.
Description: The Hau Tree Lanai is perhaps Honolulu's favorite beachside restaurant. Locals gravitate to its ideal location, just outside Waikiki proper and at the beginning of Diamond Head's Gold Coast. The restaurant is located in The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel, an ideal place to start the day, enjoy a leisurely lunch or a romantic sunset dinner.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very overrated”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were really looking forward to eating breakfast at the Hau Tree. We were surprised at how closely situated the tables were. We ate there during the week and it seems like the restaurant catered to tour groups (buses) going to Diamond Head. It was not a relaxing breakfast because of the crowded environment. From our table, you could barely even see the ocean. We had much better ambience at other restaurants in Oahu and on the Big Island. The food was nothing out of the ordinary -- and seemed greasy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iu92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    344
    126
    45
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing wedding reception dinner!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Firstly would like to thank all the staff and chef's at hau tree lanai for making our special day even better, we had our reception wedding dinner here on the 7th of July 2013 . Coming all the way from Australia were unsure what to expect. My wife and i were amazed by the delicious food and impeccable service, all the guests loved there food and we were grateful that they stayed open till later to accommodate us and greet us when we left... the view and the beautiful tree is what we originally fell in love with but the service and the amazing food is what makes this an allround dining experience !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank darren n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I am quite surprised to see any reviews less than amazing for Hau Tree after the truly romantic and beautiful dinner we had there on our most recent trip. We went there to celebrate our 14th anniversary. We arrived early for our reservation and beachfront tables were all taken, so we headed to the bar for a drink (still with a beautiful view) until a table opened up closer to our actual reservation time. We were seated just before sunset. It was so romantic to watch the sunset as we settled in to our table for the night. These folks are pretty used to romantic sunsets - one of the serving team was on hand going table to table taking pictures for everyone. I thought that was sweet.

The food was delicious and elegantly presented. We are rather foodie-ish and we had zero complaints. The service was just right - pleasant but not intrusive. The staff seems to work well as a team, such that we saw a number of faces thought the evening serving us, each one very pleasant.

If you are looking for a romantic setting, great service, delicious food and an overall memorable evening, this is it! Just a classy, relaxed place to enjoy paradise,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to watch the sun set”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We've been here a few times and have been fortunate to always get a table at beachfront. Love the atmosphere here at night. The portions of food are generous and the quality good. The service is always friendly. We like to arrive a little early and enjoy a really good Mai Tai in the bar. As we travel to Honolulu frequently from Canada we know w can always rely on this place for a nice night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 66LMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and View”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

There is a good variety of breakfast entries. Even if the food was bad, the view would knock your sox off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hau Tree Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Hau Tree Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing