We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and huge portions”
Review of Side Street Inn

Side Street Inn
Ranked #45 of 2,332 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Not a place you will walk upon in Honolulu. Took and uber there and wasn't disappointed. The ambiance won't impress but the food will. Huge portions and great local dishes. Also a bunch of TVs with sports on.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank jeremyb766
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 254 of 843 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Great food. Great portions. Great prices. A must stop every time we visit. It is only a couple blocks from the quieter sode of Waikiki and worth the ten minute walk. I recommend to all friends and family to eat here o each of their visits

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Gene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 2, 2016

Pretty baffled by all the hype about this place. The location seemed iffy. The dishes (we got their famous kimchee fried rice and pork chop) were meh. They also don't have a drink menu or any drinks in their menu. You basically have to ask about what they sell and their prices item by item, lame.

Service was meh. Lots of TVs showing ESPN. Had to kill a tiny insect flying around our food. Had to ask for a replacement fork since we got one that was bent out of shape.

Prices seemed a bit high but the portions were huge so I guess that cancels out.

Overall, I was very disappointed. It didn't come close to living up to the hype. Will not return.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank EnlightenedExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

This place had really good reviews and a co worker recommended it so my family decided to try it. I have to tell you it was without a doubt the worst experience I have ever had at a restaurant. The food was average at best and the service was poor. We ordered four dishes one of which was their award winning fried rice ( not sure how they got that award. It was average at best and it came out wet or very greasy). It took a while to get the first dish and then the other three did not come out for at least 10 minutes after that. The server was slow in checking on us and we had to wait a while before she came back so I could ask for our check. She then took a long time to get us our check even though I saw her talking to other customers and taking their orders. The worst part was right when we were about ready to leave our table, two rats came out near the ceiling where we were eating. The server even saw the rats and reported it to the manager and then I spoke to the manager. The manager acknowledged that they knew they had a rat problem and that they were doing their best to resolve it and even said the state health dept knew about it. I said that if the state knew about the rats they would not allow you to stay open. I then stated that I should not have to pay full price for the meal but the mgr said he could not do anything about it. Needless to say I did not leave a tip and reluctantly paid the full cost of the meal. I am going to call the state health dept to report this incident. I would stay away from this restaurant. We were at their Hopaka street location when this happened. If I could give them a rating lower than 1, I would do that.

Date of visit: August 2016
4  Thank TualatinORTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile

Amazing food- they had me at crab Mac n cheese.
Try the poke sampler with the chili water- incredible!

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank T8245NXjuliep
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Side Street Inn also viewed

 

Been to Side Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.