We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fried rice”
Review of Side Street Inn

Side Street Inn
Ranked #45 of 2,332 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Reviewed August 22, 2016

We were warned the is alway crowded but because we just got off a plane we went for diner at 3pm. Consequently, we came when they just opened and missed the crowds. We ordered fried rice with Chinese sausage, ranch salad, and their porkchop. Best fried rice I ever tasted.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank MikeIwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 843 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Don't let the exterior fool you. Once inside you realize you are eating with family and friends. Food is served family style--so go with a group and be hungry. We go once or twice each visit and always order the same. Fried rice, fried chicken and farmers salad with shrimp. Yummy. Not the healthiest selections but always our favorites. Cannot wait to go back this fall.

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank cjml
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 14, 2016

This is where lots of locals get together to eat. Family style comfort food. Always one of my favorite places to eat whenever in Honolulu.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere. The only place we ate at twice while we were in Waikiki. No view, but they make up for it with good food. Go early in the evening (5:30/6) to get seating or else you'll be waiting a while. Highly recommend the Korean BBQ ribs and fried rice. Yum!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Courtney O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Side Street Inn on Hopaka St sure isn't much to look at from the outside. It certainly is on a side street mostly industrial area, but the food..... thats where they excel! Fried tuna belly, yes its amazing. The huge basket of crispy garlic fries and cold beer with sports on the tv screens, awesome. The kalua pig sliders are so good! I really love this place and anyone who says that its expensive to eat good food in Hawaii obviously hasn't found the Side Street. I will be back again, its just down the street from the Aipa surf shop and our server was super nice and we definitely appreciated her welcoming aloha spirit.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sailranger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Side Street Inn also viewed

 

Been to Side Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.