We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Food and exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Street Inn

Side Street Inn
Ranked #15 of 2,257 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The food was amazing! The portions were very generous and extremely reasonably priced. We had 5 people and ordered 4 dishes and ended up taking a lot of it home with us. Our waitress was so nice she was quick with the drink refills which was so important since we were dying of thirst. She was also very kind and wrote down other recommendations for us to check out while we were staying on the island. We all had a fantastic time and everyone enjoyed everything, even our picky eater!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Auntiem630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    181
    42
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“food, food, and more food...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

if your are a group, the food is served family style, they bring out big portions, and you pass the plate around... the ribs were delicious, everything was delicious....good time, good food...good service....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 325GaryM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
515 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Hate to tell anyone how good this is...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Because then it might be even harder to get in! It's a local haunt not meant for tourists, and I'm the tourist who wants to keep it that way. Never mind that I found out about it from Anthony Bourdain.

Outstanding food you might describe as gourmet Hawaiian comfort food. Large servings are meant to be shared family style, in particular the sides like salads and fried rice. (And, oh my god, the fried rice!) Platings are not unsophisticated, they're just bounteous--as I said, family style. Each of the sides will feed four to six. Everything is seasoned and cooked to perfection--I've eaten here several times and never had anything that wasn't expertly prepared and totally delicious.

The restaurant itself is unpretentiously modest but comfortable--it's not about fancy, it's a restaurant for people who love to eat. There's a full bar and a good selection of fine beer and even finer wine. And the prices are quite reasonable, especially for Honolulu.

Just remember, you didn't hear about it from me. :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UnrepentantFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not much to look at from the outside, but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

My son's boss recommended that we eat at this place while we were on vacation in Hawaii, but when we saw it, my first thought was, "How much does you boss like you?" My description of the exterior was "seedy", my son's description was "sketchy". The interior didn't look much better, but when the food came, all appearances were forgotten and we were only thinking of the delicious meal! Our server was very friendly and she cautioned us about ordering too much because the generous portions are served family style. We took a lot of leftovers home and the bill for 4 adults was $55.50. It was one of the memorable stops of our Oahu vacation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DisneyPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Highly recommend it if you are on vacation and looking a place to eat outside of the Waikiki area, to get there take the # 2 eastbound on Kuhio Ave (about 10 minutes), ask the bus operator to let you know when to get off, you will see a Prudential Insurance Building across the street from the bus stop, the restaurant is located inside the main entrance, many excellent choices on the menu and each selection is enormous and enough for 3 to 4 people depending on how hungry you are, the local favorites are the pork chops and fried rice selections, super fast service and a very friendly staff, beside being a sport bar lounge atmosphere there is also a family style dining area, the entire staff went out of their way to ensure that families will have a very enjoyable and positive dining experience, reservation is a must for dining after 5 PM, you will see many tables with reservations upon entering the restaurant, this is one favorite restaurant for the locals, I will defintely return here on my next visit to Honolulu

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EChun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street Inn also viewed

 

Been to Side Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing