We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogart's Cafe & Espresso Bar

Bogart's Cafe & Espresso Bar
Ranked #2 of 86 Coffee & Tea in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“More please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Totally hooked on their acai bowl. I think it's better than the Island Vintage bowl. Hubby's hooked on their avocado sandwich. Great pre-hike or post-surfing food. Simple, but so fresh and so tasty. Also kind of so expensive, but it's Hawaii; isn't everything expensive? Spare yourself the wait - call in your order then eat it in the park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GABRIELLE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    144
    27
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, long wait, cash only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Bogart's is one of the most popular breakfast and brunch locations in Honolulu. Over all the menu is extensive and includes bagels which can be hard to find in Honolulu, the food is excellent, and the price is fair. I wouldn't call this place a "deal" but given the popularity, they could certainly gouge the customers by a lot more. Also given the popularity, there is almost ALWAYS a super long wait to order, followed by a long wait for the food. You're best off if one person waits in line to order the food, while your friend scouts for a table as they open up -- or just call in an order "to go." The other thing to remember is they ONLY accept cash, which I think is another downer. (No points for plane tickets!) Over all I recommend trying Bogart's at least once for the food! But if all you're craving is the freshest bagel in town, and you have a car, I'd scope out one of my other restaurant reviews...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LiisaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fried rice for breakfast away from Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was a really neat restaurant, and we had breakfast here. Not very large, but they serve very good food. My son ordered fried rice for breakfast, which was really a treat for him. Well worth leaving the Waikiki strip to have breakfast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gshu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yummy but not sure it's worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I went to Bogart's twice during my stay. They have an awesome menu so I felt compelled to go back to try something new. Lots of options and fresh ingredients. As good as it was I'm not sure it was worth the wait. This place is clearly very popular with locals and tourists and it's SMALL. This means you will wait 30+ minutes for your food and may not have anywhere to sit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank STLSteward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After hiking Diamond Head we stopped at Bogarts for breakfast. Nothing fancy but a good vibe of locals mixed with a sprinkle of visitors. The line was long to place your order and the seating area a bit warm (due to the constant walk-in traffic). The menu is quite extensive. Everything from the chicken to the egg! Tables are tight, but folks are friendly and don't linger after their meals knowing others are waiting to be seated.
Two omelettes, a special salad, chicken sandwich and 4 beverages = just over $75
We are on vacation so would consider this a splurge. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gmt1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogart's Cafe & Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bogart's Cafe & Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing