We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality and open 24 hours”

Sorabol Korean Restaurant
Ranked #733 of 2,340 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great quality and open 24 hours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The food was fresh and there is a LOT of variety of Korean food plus sushi. One of the dishes I had was the beef sashimi, steak tartare, which is hard to find these days for obvious reasons. It was great! And, they give many free pre-meal pupus which were all very good. A bit on the high side price wise, but, a nicer restaurant as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DouginAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    20
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sorabol”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Food tasted terrible and restaurant looked dirty and was smelly.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank sunnygirl610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Top Rated By Honolulu Magazine? Please...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Yes, it's Korean food, in Honolulu's Koreatown. It's a dump. Parking is problem. The food? OK, I guess. Tried it only because of the Honolulu review, and my wife is Korean.Where we live (northern VA), there is a huge Korean community, and many much better restaurants. Very few Korean customers when we were there. Most people in the place had no idea what to order, which I always find amusing. If you just have to have Bi Bim Bap (as I did), give it a try. But you've been warned.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally down hill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Says it won a 2009 Zagat award.. Walked in, walked out.. Smelled like dirty frying oil..Floor covering was so old and nasty looking.. Not many eatting at noon time??. I was there years ago, and it was good.. Now, sorry...but needs a good cleaning and updating inside and out.. I was trying to go to a Korean resturant to show my tourist friend.. SAD this place..

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WaterfallsHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
179 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food, Unkept Dining Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

With this review, you might ask how I could give it four stars. Well, the food was good. The service was also reasonably attentive. We sat at a bbq table and cooked our own meal. It was great. The side dishes were plentiful and the quality was really good. Unlike so many Korean restaurants, we were quickly offered refills of side dishes which we emptied. Yes, the one down side - the place needed a good cleaning. There was a thick layer of dust and very noticeable cobwebs at the end of the booth I was sitting at. So if that kind of thing freaks you out, stay away. Otherwise, have at it. I'm sure now that I've found it, I'll visit again the next time I'm in Honolulu.

Helpful?
Thank TheHonestScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorabol Korean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sorabol Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing