We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Hawaii Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waioli Tea Room - CLOSED

Waioli Tea Room
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kingston, WA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Traditional Hawaii Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The natural tropical garden setting is enough reason alone to visit this Manoa Valley Tea House Restaurant. We stopped in at noon on a weekday expecting a crowd. It was busy but they they welcomed us to a rustic outside lanai table. The Aloha spirit was Spirit was abundant...the staff courteous and pleasant. We ordered tea some wonderfully prepared fresh salads. I had hot tea and my wife had a glass of wine. The service was fast and efficient and the food delicious. Clearly people who know the value of an unhurried meal among friends and families also enjoying some quality time at a quality restaurant got the treat of an authentic "Hawaiian" experience. We had time to chat, eat, and enjoy unhurried moments among that which makes a trip to Hawai'i more memorable. The restaurant is owned by the Salvation Army and is run efficiently by a conscientious and caring staff. If you love fast-food and enjoy a short lunch on the run...maybe this is not your cup of tea....but for anyone who has a moment to stop and smell the flowers and that enjoys a quaint historic treasure...then this is here waiting just for you and your family.

Helpful?
Thank WAJbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    24
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“From the 1960's !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

The Tea Room was originally (I believe) run by the Salvation Army...Famous in the 60's for it's location and ambience. It's curried chicken salad and even their own cookbook.
Parking is free and it's a lovely drive up Manoa - a bit of old Hawaii.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelChick01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaithersburg md
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“So Much Potential....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'm always looking for a good afternoon tea in a lovely place and had great hopes for the Waioli. It's in a lush, tropical setting with a fabulous house (Craftsman style built in the early 1920's) and had so much potential it was painful. It has a wonderful covered veranda/lanai and a couple of rooms used for private parties, again with the tropical garden right outside the window. Could be so wonderful. The reality: unkept garden; old, boring, dull table coverings; worn cutlery; shabby and not very clean over-all. And I suppose the most important thing, the food. The teas were mostly flavored, water was lukewarm, sandwiches and sweets with a tropical bent were just all right. Scones were pretty good. I think the folks who frequent the Waioli are fine with it the way it is (seemed to have a regular clientele) but I was very disappointed and would not go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sobriquet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Coconut-Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Back in the day, we used to drive to the tea room just for this fish!
Don't know if they still prepare it this way, but I'm calling to find out.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank californiayogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a throwback to yesteryear”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

you have to get past the very frayed edges of this restaurant, and just enjoy that it harkens back to a simpler time and food. Because it is part of a non-profit--Salvation Army--it is not a slick place, by any means. Very worn and dirty in the corners. But the food is make very fresh! Had a turkey sandwich from a real roast turkey, with fresh bean sprouts and julienne carrots on wheat bread... something your grandmother would make for you. My friend has a roast beef sandwich and was so surprised that it was real roast beef, not deli slices. Bottom line, enjoy this historic little restaurant and think of grandma.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank junlook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing