We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERPRICED and so-so atmosphere”

The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Honolulu
Level Contributor
304 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED and so-so atmosphere”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We visited this relatively new steakhouse b/c one of our family members was celebrating a special birthday and enjoys his steak. We have tried almost all the steakhouses on Oahu: Mortons, Ruths Chris, Hys, Wolfgangs, etc. Unfortunately, this will not be a repeat venue b/c it is overly expensive. The ribeye and filet mignon and scallops were ordered. Although tender and tasty, the food wasn't worth the $75.00-100 per person. The view is nice but not unique. We were seated somewhat close to the bar and there was a very enthusiastic happy hour crowd so rather noisy. We were also near the piano player which is right next to the bar. It just seems that everything was packed too close together- the bar, piano player, lounge tables and chairs in the bar-- next to dining area-- not a nice or tasteful layout or ambiance. IF you do visit, ask for a table away from the bar/lounge area.

Obviously, most of the people there were celebrating special occasions-- why else would you want to spend that much for food when Honolulu has so much to offer in the way of other steak places and (healthier options). The wines were also prohibitively expensive. Although its expected that restaurants have a huge markup, this restaurant marks it up almost 150% !! A glass of wine averaged $15-21 Just got the feeling we were being gouged. I mean, really, do you want to attract the average local person to a fine dining steak location? All the waitresses looked the same- dark colored black dresses with hair pulled back and black framed glasses.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sharkisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    54
    25
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stay Away from Expensive, Dated TOURIST TRAP!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Want a great view...Go to Sarentos Top of the I, Morimotos, Top of Waikiki, Michel's, Hoku's, La Mer, Rum Fire & Mariposa all have FAR superior views!

Signature offers peak views, slowwww service, high prices with terrible food and beverage. Calamari was saturated in sweet syrup sauce which the owner states is 'asian style' and this is how everyone eats in Hawaii...really!

Hawaii's better 'asian style' cuisine to experience is at Hiroshi Eurasion Tapas, Alan Wong's, Sasabune, Sidestreet Inn, Sensei, Nobu, & Roys. They bring the cultural experience to it's fullest, highlighting ingredients along with class, style, and service with honest, warm hospitality.

Frozen calamari, not fresh (you could beat it with a stick) so heavily battered to the point of sucking up every ounce of frying oil creating a greasy, crunchy lump of flavorless lard, saturated, dripping with sugar.

FANTASTIC calamari for much less cost is plentifully available in walking distance. Bring on the Chart House, Longhi's, Ruth Chris, Hula Grill, Phuket Thai, Epic, Side Street Inn, Gyu-Kaku, even the Mai Tai Bar far exceeds anything dishes here!

Lychee Martini $9 happy hour, are you kidding? Signature produces a small pour, luke warm syrupee, saccharin riddled, insulting slop. We live on the Islands, don't be so unbelievably cheap, I'll pick you some fresh Lychee and toss the canned 'whatever surprise' you put in a glass.

Walk on over to Panya for the BEST Lychee Martinis, only $5! Morton's, Doraku Sushi, 3660 On the Rise, Uncle Bo's Pupu Bar & Grill, RaKuen Lounge, and Bambu Martini Bar...Actually, any place in Honolulu will happily serve you a REAL Lychee Martini at half the price.

The owner staggered over to ask how it was, his unprofessionalism was astounding, not able to accept constructive criticism like maybe adding a descriptions in the menu to explain a dish and it's ingredients. In Peter Kim's mind, he must assume no one would ever ask...right!

Take a class in hospitality, management, and 'asian style' cuisine. See whats going on in the world, nobody is going to pay your high prices for canned, frozen foods with a smug little attitude in this Dated 'TOURIST TRAP'.

The best part about Signature is when you turn around and walk out the door. Wake up, this is the 21st century!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank vsirvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Prime views, excellent service and food. Time to give it a try!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked a reservation, quickly on opentable. Our seats had a great view, overlooking the harbor, Diamondhead, Waikiki. From the outset, the service was excellent! There were no less than 6 servers for our table and frequent visits from the management to see how things were.

I ordered the bone-in, rib eye (a recommendation from a friend who ate there a couple days before) and wife had misoyaki butterfish, with truffle, mashed potatoes and creamed spinach. The beef was melt-in-the mouth. My wife didn't have any leftovers on her plate, so, I'd have to say the same was true for the butterfish.

It is a little louder by the piano bar, but, not overly intrusive.

I had the keylime pie and wife had chocolate cake. I've never tasted a cake that was more moist! Wow!

For a real treat, request the booth/window seats that face the west to watch the sunset.

There is plenty of FREE parking adjacent to the mall or, you can pay for valet.

This is not a restaurant for the tightly budgeted family, but, I highly recommend a visit to the Signature Prime Steak and Seafood Restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank propredicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
214 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great View of Waikiki - Overpriced Menu”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The view is great from the 36th floor of the Ala Moana Hotel, but the "Signature" is just another overpriced steak house on Oahu. Perhaps the view is worth it, but the menu, food and drinks aren't all that special. The restaurant is a huge improvement from what's been there in the past 40 years, whether it clicks with the locals is another matter. Happy Hour is good, with pupus running $4 and up. Drink specials are a bit high compared to other more modest venues like the "Top of Waikiki" with wine starting at $7. Signature cocktails are $13 and not really that special. Dinner is on the pricey side averaging $40+. The place has limited cocktail seating so get there early. Finally, they've spoiled the place by having TVs over the bar tuned to sports channels. I would think that people come to enjoy the view, not to watch TV. Sorry, but won't be coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kirrabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great view, ok food.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The view is spectacular, but the food was average. I don't get excited about a steakhouse when my steak at home is just as good or better. Someone had the Lamb and really enjoyed it.

Service was great,where everyone is aiming to please. Did not care for the loud piano music, which turned to piano and singing later. It made it difficult to talk. We asked that the speakers be turned down, but they only have a central control. The closer you are to the bar, the louder the music.

With a moderate California Cab, the tab was over $110 per person.

The valet area was chaotic arriving and departing. I would park at the shopping center and walk over.

I would prefer to go to BLT.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood also viewed

 

Been to The Signature Prime Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing