We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Dinning Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean House Restaurant

Ocean House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: The Ocean House on the beach at Waikiki offers casual elegance, stunning views, an innovative menu and a promise of a superb dinning experience.
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific Dinning Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Location location location, then service service service, followed by quality food and beverages. This establishment has the experience just right (the rib eye steak was brilliant- went back again just to have it). Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Aloha Tim C.,
Thank you for the great compliments and recommendation! We are happy that you enjoyed the view, ambiance, service and food. We will be sure to share your compliments with the Chef and our Staff. We hope to see you again on your next visit!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    290
    119
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldergrove, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Quite Very Good - but not bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice beach front location but the food was not as good as I thought it would be. It was not bad but just not what I was looking for. Friendly staff. I ordered steak and lobster - at "Market Price" should have asked as they charged me $35 for the steak and $35 for this tiny little lobster tail that if I had known was being offered at that price I wouldn't have ordered it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Aloha Trisha,
Thank you for dining with us at the Ocean House. We do our best to provide top quality meats and seafood to all our guests. A couple of our menu prices are marked as AQ, (as quoted) Our Filet Mignon is top quality Certified Angus Beef and the Lobster tail comes from the Isle of Tristan one of the best lobsters in the world. I apologize that we did not inform you of the days market price and that you did not feel that there was a value for the cost of the dish. May I recommend the Seafood Clam Bake on your next visit. which includes the lobster tail, mussels, clams and Shrimp.
Thank you for sending us your comments they are very helpful in our quest to improve our restaurant.
Mahalo
David Nagaishi
General Manager
Ocean House Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We dined here for breakfast as we where staying at the outrigger reef. The continental breakfast was a great start to the day which we enjoyed looking out over the beach. The second day I ordered the french toast... it was french toast on steroids!!! I could not stand how sweet it was!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kofbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Aloha Kofbrisvegas,
Thank you for joining for breakfast on your vacation. We are glad that you enjoyed the view and our continental breakfast. We will speak with our Chef about the french toast. Hope to see you again on your next visit, maybe try us out of dinner.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
113 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a beautiful restaurant located in the Outrigger Reef (where we always stay.) The food is always good at any time of day, but I most prefer their breakfasts - especially their French toast! It's relaxing to sit and drink your coffee and take in the beautiful Waikiki view.
Service is always fast and friendly.
If you have breakfast included in your room package at the Reef skip the buffet at the Shore Bird and head to the Ocean House instead - they take the breakfast vouchers as well! You're welcome!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisampls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Aloha lisampls,
We are so happy to hear that you joined us on several occasions during your visit for breakfast! We love that you enjoyed the view and the French Toast. We will share you compliments with our Chef and Staff. See you on your next visit ;)
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Fish Dish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had a lovely meal, we had a short wait, but less than expected. I had the Butterfish which mouth wateringly delicious. My partner had the ahi starter which was suberb, Lovely ocean front setting.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UKW0rldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing