We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View”

Ocean House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: The Ocean House on the beach at Waikiki offers casual elegance, stunning views, an innovative menu and a promise of a superb dinning experience.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We made reservations five days ahead for the restaurant. It was a good thing we did because we were given a window table overlooking the Ocean. The food was outstanding, and our waiter couldn't have been more attentive. The dessert menu was fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Aloha Mary Ann B.,
We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and thank you for sharing it with our readers. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    299
    122
    41
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

So sorry to share such a terrible review. On our 4th morning at the Outrigger Reef we decided to have a "fancy breakfast" On Sat we walked up to the entrance of the Ocean House at around 8.30am and thought great, there was less than of a third of the tables taken. We said "table for 2 please". We were asked if we had a reservation (which we didn't) and asked to sit and wait (which was fine). After about 5mins we were shown to a beautiful beachside table and the waitress told us over and over how lucky we were to get this table without a reservation as someone hadn't shown up?? The restaurant was empty!!?? There was over 20 spare tables?? We couldn't work out why we were "so lucky" to get this table when there were so many available? We ordered breakfast, the view was breathtaking, everything was lovely. After 50 minutes! Our waiter came over and said "I'm sorry, your meals will be out shortly" During this 50 mins we had ordered drinks and were brought the wrong ones, different to what we'd ordered. Also I had asked for a straw twice and it never came. I know these are minor details but the way the staff prance around like they own the place, we expected better service. Considering we WERE at this sort-after VIP table?? Anyway, after an 1 hour our breakfast arrived by a sweaty, stressed, rushed kitchen member who divulged they were having huge problems in the kitchen that morning.. We went to dig into our poached eggs and.... RAW! Completely uncooked, Whites were still clear - 100% RAW! We told our waiter and he mumbled "ohh I'm sorry" (a bit shocked & embarrassed i think?) he quickly walked away with our plates. We got up and said quietly.. "I think we might go" and he quickly agreed. So we left. Not going back. SORRY Ocean House! Must have been a bad day for you guys?? Much better breakfast Kani Ka Pila (By the pool) we ate here every other morning. HALF the price, better service, amazing food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mumof3nrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha NQmommy
Thank you for joining us at the Ocean House for Breakfast last saturday. We sincerely apologize for the food and service that you received that day. We always strive to make sure that all of our food is cooked correctly and served in a timely manner.
I make no excuses for the poor execution on your table and can only offer you our sincere apologies and a promise that if you do decide to return you will not be disappointed
We take all comments very seriously and this incident has been reviewed with our chefs, managers and staff. I had no way to apologizing to you for that day. So im very appreciative that you decided to write to us and we are able to communicate.

I wish you well and hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to the Islands.

A hui hou,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Staff are amazing, so welcoming and happy and the food is divine. Atmosphere at Breakfast is relaxed and calm and at dinner is chilled and romantic!
5* and we will be coming back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlipperClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Aloha FlipperClaire,
Thank you for joining us for Breakfast and Dinner! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and we'll let our Chef and staff know of your compliments. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Dh and I enjoyed dinner here our first night in Hawaii. Although we had hoped to have dinner and watch the sunset, a plane delay caused us to miss our sunset dinner. The staff was very accommodating and we were able to move our reservations to a later time. Although we did not have oceanside seating, our table faced the beach. Seafood was fresh and delicious. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JRMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Aloha JRMom,
We are glad that you were able to join us for dinner. Thank you for your compliments and recommending us, we hope to see you again on your next visit for that sunset dinner!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Slightly off the main strip, so not as busy and easier to get a reservation. Beautiful plantation-style decor, ocean-front setting (tables further back are raised so they can see out as well).

Service is very professional and courteous. Not cheap, but comparable with many other Waikiki restaurants. Food excellent and portions are ample. Prime Rib is superb (herb and butter rubbed, then grilled briefly after being sliced from the main roast), and lots of local fish well prepared.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Aloha Peter J.,
Did you know we slow roast our Prime Rib for 8 hours to get that perfect, tender, delicious bite? We are so glad that you enjoyed it and the ambiance. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing