We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal, great service, great view”

Ocean House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: The Ocean House on the beach at Waikiki offers casual elegance, stunning views, an innovative menu and a promise of a superb dinning experience.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great meal, great service, great view”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

The front desk at our hotel recommended Ocean House, and we're glad that we heeded their suggestion. A very comfortable place - great food in a relaxed setting. The view of the sunset was wonderful (we pretended not to see the cruise ship motoring in front of the sun). Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu (several food sensitivities in our group) and the kitchen was both careful and accommodating. The other staff who help keep the restaurant functioning were equally good. We look forward to returning!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H1k1ng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Aloha H1K1ng,
Thank you for joining us at The Ocean House. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. We take food allergies and sensitives very seriously and pride ourselves on great Aloha quality Customer Service. Are glad that you were happy with your experience and we look forward to your return too!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    634
    302
    122
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant venue on the beach with wonderful food”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We almost missed eating at this wonderful restaurant, on the beach, since you need to walk through the Outrigger Hotel to get to the restaurant. While casual, this is a high end restaurant with wonderfully prepared dishes and presentations. We ate seafood, but from watching other diners, their steak and prime rib were getting great comments. Make reservations or plan for a long wait since it appears to be very popular.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flash531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha flash531,
Thank you for dining with us! We are glad that you were able to experience The Ocean House. We will give your compliments to our Chef. See you on your next visit.
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Service - Just Ask, and They'll Do It !”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We arrived at Ocean House by mistake and after stumbling into it, ended up coming back repeatedly during our stay in Honolulu.

The food is good. It's not sophisticated upscale dining, but is certainly well-executed classic dining.

My only caution regarding the food is based on my personal preference for little or no sauces. Again, that is strictly my personal habit. Having said this, any sauces that came with our dishes were well executed, to say the least.

Otherwise, the quality of the fish is superb. The preparation is perfect. And, the service --- excellent.

During our first visit, we asked for several dishes to be modified so they'd fit into a gluten-free cleanse. "No problem!" said our sever. And, truly, everything arrived perfectly.

On our second visit, we were accompanied by a vegetarian couple who'd become tired of veggie sandwiches. To say the least, they were blown away by the special dishes created by the chef (and just before closing !!).

In all, a very good place to show up if you're looking for a good meal, great service, and none of the pretentiousness that can otherwise pollute a wonderful dining experience.

Some suggested dishes:

- Ask for the Seafood Dynamite to be grilled; not fried --- this is a really good dish.
- Ahi tuna carpaccio is refreshing, light, and yummy.
- Order quinoa instead of rice with your entree and you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Our manager/server was Colleen. She's one of the nicest, professional, and accommodating restaurant staff I've run across.

If you bump into George as your server, expect to bust a rib with laughter --- he's a fun loving, easy going guy.

In all, Ocean House has a wonderful ocean view, fresh and well-prepared dishes, and really good service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha Jay S.,
We are so glad that you enjoyed dining with us. We pride ourselves on great Aloha Customer Service. Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us to our readers. We will let our Chef, Colleen and George know of your compliments! We hope to see you on your next visit to Waikiki.
Mahao,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food & views”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Easily the best meal we had in Oahu, and considering some of the good meals we had, that's saying something. The views from the dining room are spectacular, the service was great and the food was amazing. I mentioned in my reservation that it was my friend's birthday and they handled it wonderfully. Definitely on my list for when I go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kklowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha kklowe,
Thank you for dining with us and sharing your experience with our readers. We are glad that we were able to make your visit with us a memorable one. We love to celebrate special occasions with our guests. We will pass along your compliments to our Chef and Staff. We look forward to your next visit!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie Center, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Excellent food, service and view! We had Lobster Skewers for an appetizer... Absolutely the best! Great drinks and a wonderful atmosphere. A little high priced, but it was well worth it! One of the best meals we had while on the island and can't wait to go back again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TK3711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Aloha TK3711,
The Lobster Skewers are delicious! One of our popular appetizers. We are glad that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We will share your compliments with our Staff. See you on your next visit to Waikiki!
Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
The Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing