We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant atmosphere, great food, enjoy!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean House Restaurant

Ocean House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: The Ocean House on the beach at Waikiki offers casual elegance, stunning views, an innovative menu and a promise of a superb dinning experience.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, great food, enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We took a friend to dinner to celebrate his birthday and it was great. The atmosphere and the beautiful view of Waikiki beach, and good service. Try the "Maui Jim" cocktail martini to start off, ahi carpaccio appetizer and the seafood lau lau for dinner was excellent. The restaurant is lively, and it has a wonderful tropical feel. I have nothing negative to say, just go, enjoy and have a wonderful, tasty dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craignsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for dinning with us and celebrating your friends birthday at the Ocean House. We are glad that you enjoyed all that we have to offer. The Seafood Lau Lau is one of my favorites! Were you able to try our Uncle Moki's Chocolate Lava Flow? It's another one of my favs. See you again on our next visit!

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    290
    119
    39
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A memorable birthday dinner - with wonderful service - thank you Jason!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We made a reservation for an early dinner owing to an flight out this evening! It was my birthday and Jason, our waiter was extraordinary..wonderful service, excellent food, the setting sun..and a lovely refreshing complimentary birthday dessert...thank you Ocean House I am so happy you made my day!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great food, price not bad for the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Filet Mignon dinner for 2 was $85. Not a bad price considering the area. We didn't have to wait long be seated and both the food and the service was top notch.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha Karen C.,

We are glad that you enjoyed having dinner with us. Mahalo for your compliments.

Hope to see you again!
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great view and good breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Awesome location, view of the beach right outside. The loco moco is gourmet and delicious. Awesome choices especially the early evening prime rib special.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chazz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha Chazz B.,

I'm so glad that you were able to join us for breakfast and dinner. Did you know that our Loco Moco is made with prime rib and is award winning? It's a classic local dish with an Ocean House flare to it ;)

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsend, DE
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant of all times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our favorite Waikiki Restaurant is Ocean House. It was the first restaurant we ever dined at in Hawaii and have had the opportunity to dine there again. It is spotless and beautifully decorated. Located in the Outrigger Reef Hotel, it is right on Waikiki Beach.

It is the loveliest spot to have breakfast. We enjoyed their Fresh Fruit Sunrise, which is a wonderful assortment of fresh fruit topped with yogurt, drizzled with honey and a little granola, and the Granola and Fresh Fruit was a large bowl of granola topped with wonderfully fresh fruits with yogurt (one could have soy or regular milk). Both were delightfully healthy and delicious. They also have waffles, omelet, continental breakfast, etc.

For our last dinner on Oahu, our dinner at Ocean House was unsurpassed. The open air restaurant is warmly lighted at night with the torches ablaze at the edge of the building. If you get there as the sun sets, it is even more breathtaking. We chose to dine later this time to enjoy the blaze of the evening torches. As an appetizer, we had sauté mushrooms. For our main course, I had the Lite Cut Prime Rib served with Maui onion mashed potatoes. The prime rib was cooked just as order, which was perfection, as were the very tasty potatoes. My husband had the Seafood Lau Lau, wrapped in a ti leaf was Mahi Mahi, shrimp, scallops, luau leaf and Molokai sweet potatoes with rice. Besides being beautifully presented, the meal was also exceptional. They have yummy desserts, but we had to pass them up. In the past, we have had the incredible Chocolate Lava Flow Cake, so if you have room, this is the best!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Aloha Alana B,

Thank you for your great descriptive comments about out atmosphere and food. I could not have described them better myself. It's always great to hear when guest enjoy our restaurant, I will be sure to let our Chef and staff know how much you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner experience!

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing