We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not great”

Ocean House Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Ocean House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: The Ocean House on the beach at Waikiki offers casual elegance, stunning views, an innovative menu and a promise of a superb dinning experience.
ann arbor, mi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, not great”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I dutifully read all other reviews before selecting this restaurant. I always worry about the superlatives used by many in connection with any review, and reviews of this restaurant were no exception. Starting with the view, very nice if you are lucky enough to be seated in the front half of the restaurant. The service was well choreographed. The captain was friendly enough in a rote sort of way. Despite his solicitation of any questions, he would not make a solid recommendation for any specific fish dish-- reciting the merits of all of them, especially the most expensive dish. To the point -- food was good, not great-7 on a scale of 10. If you are looking for a dining experience and not an ocean viewing experience in Honolulu, there are better restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uditann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Aloha uditann,

Thank you for dining with us at the Ocean House. I'm glad you thought the food was good and felt the service was well choreographed. We do our very best to provide quality food and service to all of our guest. I guess 7 out of 10 is ok, but we too are never satisfied with ok. What would it take for us to be a 10 in your book? Please share your thoughts with us. I'm positive that your input will help us improve our restaurant.

Mahalo and Have a Happy Holiday Season,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    303
    122
    41
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a very nice meal at the Ocean House. I ordered the fish and my husband ordered the scallops.

The service was very professional. The food was high quality. The restaurant is really beautiful.

We had the chocolate lava cake for dessert. The dessert selection wasn't extensive.

We thought this restaurant was good value for money, considering the location, ambience, service and food quality and presentation.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dulcieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha dulcieb,

Thank you for the great comments. We are glad that you enjoyed all that the Ocean House has to offer. I would love to meet you and your husband on your next visit to Waikiki.

Have a great Holiday Season!
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sunset dinner on the beach in Waikiki???”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Decided to take visitors from Europe to dinner at Ocean House for the prime rib special. Fabulous sunset view AND dinner. Wondered why locals don't go to Waikiki after coming here. Glad we did. Moderate prices with a $1M view.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingshark808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Aloha kingshark808,

We are so glad that you and your guests enjoyed the Ocean House and all that we have to offer. We really love it when locals come out to visit us. The view from the Ocean House is amazing isn't? We never get tired of the sunset we get here.

Mahalo,
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eutawville
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pricy but excellent food”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our favorite thing on their menu when we were there was an appetizer called pepper seared scollops. We had it for appetizer the first time we ate there, and loved it so much we had it for an entree with a side dish our last night at the hotel.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JudiW602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Aloha Judi W,

The peppered seared scallops are delicious! They are very popular on our menu, I will let our Chef know that you enjoyed them so much you came back to have it again! What a compliment =) Thank you for dinning with us and the great comment!

Happy Holidays!
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful place right on the ocean, service wonderful.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The fish is fresh and the food is very good. I tried the prime rib and found it just ok on our first visit. We both had fish the second time we visited and is was very good. The arugula salad with the poached pears and walnuts was particularly terrific. We really like this hotel and this restaurant is on site. Service was wonderful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karenneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShoreBirdRestaurant, General Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Aloha Karenneworleans,

Thank you for dinning with us during your stay that the Outrigger Reef on the Beach! Our Chefs takes good care in preparing the fresh fish special, it changes nightly and it is always delicious. We are glad that you got to enjoy it on two separate occasions. And the arugula salad with poached pears is one of my favorites ;)

Mahalo & Happy Holidays!
David Nagaishi
Vice President/General Manager
Ocean House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ocean House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing