We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh! And Clean!”

Harbor Village Cuisine
Ranked #517 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
TN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh! And Clean!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Since relocating to the island we have searched high and low for fresh and legit Chinese and we found it! The place is clean, and the staff are really enduring and service focused. The latter being a huge difference from the rest of the restaurants here on Oahu! The potstickers are to die for! We also had the sweet and sour sea bass, won ton soup and Mongolian beef. All excellent! They had jellyfish on the menu which is something that looks interesting. Maybe next time :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacklyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mill Bay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found this gem”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband and I made our way to Harbour Village Cuisine at the Koko Marina Centre in Hawaii Kai. We are both always looking for a place that offers dim sum AND THIS WAS THE BEST DIM SUM we have ever tried. It is the real deal! Fresh, delicious and a wide variety of offerings. Much of the staff does not speak good English so we did the point method for ordering but it was so good! The service was friendly and fast, the dim sum hot and non-greasy. Loved the experience. The wheelchair access was good as well with parking right out front. Check out their offerings on the website www.harborvillagecuisine.com

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeahfromBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Made to Order Dim Sum”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This is a local family-owned restaurant located in a busy crossroads shopping center in East Honolulu, along the way to Hanauma Bay and Sandy Beach. The restaurant has a strong local following of clients and competes with several other Chinese Restaurants in a two mile radius; we have eaten at all of them. The restaurant is on the smaller size but does have a private banquet room available.

Our family comes here primarily for dim sum since the chef is well-trained in this type of regional (Cantonese) cuisine. The dim sum is ordered by completing a paper order ticket which corresponds to the provided color picture menu. The choices are plentiful - about four dozen kinds - with just about all of the usual varieties of dim sum available: har gao (shrimp purse), sil mai (pork hash cups), jin dui (sesame ball). They also have two of my favorites that are more difficult to find in Hawaii: xiao long bao (Shanghai style very juicy meat filled dumplings) and grilled green onion pancake. Each basket or plate of dim sum is prepared to order so there is a small wait but the wait is worth it since you know that everything you ordered is just out of the cooker or steamer. Thus, there is that trade-off between impulse-ordering off of a steamer cart versus freshness, but I put more weighting on the freshness factor.

While we haven't ordered extensively off of the regular menu, the limited dishes we have eaten were well-prepared and very flavorful. For example, we thought that their beef chow fun (dry style) was excellent in flavor and quantity. This restaurant is known for their garlic and hot chili crab (kept alive in tanks), which we hope to try soon.

What you notice about this restaurant is that the owner and staff are not the rude, surly, "I don't care" types that patrons too often encounter at other Chinese restaurants. While there isn't an overabundance of wait staff, they move at a fast pace and make you feel like they are on top of their service. This place is very clean, even the restrooms. You will notice that their prices are just a little higher than what you may find in Chinatown, but I think the pricing is fair given its location in the upscale East Honolulu area and the quality of dim sum.

In all fairness, we haven't eaten enough of the regular menu items to compare to other restaurants in Honolulu, but based on what I see on other patron's tables, I would bet that these are prepared with the same care and quality found on their dim sum menu.
Parking is very plentiful and it's easy to find in the Koko Marina Shopping Center near Taco Bell.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rodjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Authentic Hong Kong Cuisine -- Get the Garlic Crab”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

This has been our favorite neighborhood Chinese restaurant since it opened quite a few years ago. It is family owned and the pride in ownership shows -- the owner is also the chef. The food is fresh, the service attentive and the restaurant is clean and welcoming. We enjoy traditional dishes such as the Peking Duck, spinach with garlic and ginger and cold drunken clams. Dim sum is served at lunch but we normally go to dinner and order family style. The owners, Kevin and Flora always make us feel at home.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kentkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth many visits”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Harbor Village Cuisine is tucked away in a strip mall on the back side of the Koko Marina shopping center. We celebrated my mother's 91st birthday there. The dim sum is excellent and the dishes are delicious. The lobster was especially good. We are sure to go there whenever we are in Hawaii. There are many dim sum restaurants in downtown Honolulu, but this one is on the east side in Hawaii Kai. There are two areas that can be set aside for small private parties. There are fixed menus for banquets, if you prefer. All are good and reasonably priced. They will also do take out. Dim sum is ordered off a picture menu. Ask for the special of the day which depends on what is in season and available. All so yummy. Go hungry.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor Village Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Harbor Village Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing