We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bartender great personality!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuck's Cellar

Chuck's Cellar
Ranked #138 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bartender great personality!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The bartender had a great personality. Hubby had prime rib while I ordered the salad bar since I'm not a big eater. Food was good!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank chris730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    125
    46
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murphys, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Not so good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I had eaten here several years ago and, remembering our pleasant experience, returned during our recent trip. Salad bar was just "ok" and nothing special; steak was charred too much for my liking, baked potato very small. Service was a bit slow; will not return - too many great choices to settle for mediocre.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine Too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Chucks cellar is dingy and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We wanted to eat there and decided against it after checking the menu with overpriced steaks and drinks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MermaidOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Time travel for real!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is like going back to the 70's! The decor, food and service probably has been the same since then. I thoroughly enjoyed everything from the wine, salad bar and my dinner. Prime rib, generous cut, tasty and juicy with a live Maine lobster for $47.00 can't beat that! Try it! It is very good!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PSJusahawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Steak n' Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This place was lovely! We requested to sit outside overlooking Waikiki Beach which was awesome. The steaks were delicious no frills - just good meat. And the service was impeccable! I was amazed how attended we were. And it wasn't over the top, it was genuine sincerity on whether or not our meal and time were good. The prices aren't too bad either. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicolemonade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's Cellar also viewed

 

Been to Chuck's Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing