We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved It.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Odoriko Restaurant - MOVED

Odoriko Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Kaiulani Avenue
Description: Known to be one of the "gems" of Waikiki, Odoriko is one of the area's longest established Japanese restaurants; a popular destination since 1972. Its chefs pride themselves of bringing you the very best cuts of ocean-fresh fish: From tender, melt-in-your-mouth sushi and sashimi to broiled Maine lobster, grilled garlic shrimp and misoyaki butterfish. Odoriko's wide menu selection also includes hot pot entrees -- shabu shabu, sukiyaki, chanko nabe or seafood nabe --, chicken karaage, tempura, homemade tofu and delicious noodle dishes. The modern lights and relaxing setting at Odoriko will be just the ticket to get the night started with some of the best hot or cold sake.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Loved It.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great Japanese food and not just fancy sushi rolls. Their homemade tofu was great. Went twice for dinner in 1 week and mostly Japanese groups (90%) in the full dining room. Their set meals and bentos are a deal esp with the lobster. Table of 3 next to us ordered the $37?pp set and they just kept getting food after food after food....their generously sized table was absolutely full of goodies.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fpiesiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    65
    32
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“If you're all about a great, authentic raw fish experience, just go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

It's in a weird (but easy) location, it gets no hype, but step into this place and you'll know immediately that the Japanese in Waikiki know this is the place to go.
now I've never had food from the kitchen, but I've sat at the sushi bar 3 times (spanning the last 2 yrs), and ordered Omakase or chef's choice and have simply been blown away every time. I'm very into not only the freshness and quality of the fish, but need good variety as well and this place has all in spades!! This now one of my very favorite sushi spots anywhere...some day I'll try something from the kitchen!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Beach
Level Contributor
495 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“So authentic you'll think you're in Japan.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

All the place I knew in NY and Philadelphia and even California that served Japanese breakfast (the authentic kind - not the hotel fusion kind) are no longer in existence. So it is to nuts to fly 3500 miles to Honolulu for the last remaining place I can fine outside of Japan to have this special meal? It is so delicious and heart warming. I also went for dinner several times. The waiter told me they try to always buy locals (oysters from the big island, local fish, etc.). I was in heaven. The squid (shiokara) was one of the best ever. The service it great. You feel like you are in Japan, since almost everyone there is Japanese. Yum! Yum! Yum!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonCapeMayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good job on Japanese food, not so great on American Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had a groupon for this place. They were great about the Groupon, did not treat us any differently because we had it. The place was busy. Service was quick and friendly. We did order a steak and a lobster and they were not very tasty but what they did do that was Japanese, these were done very well and very tasty. I would eat there again but order authentic Japanese food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherilee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just behind the Hyatt Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

Wonderful meal the evening after my wife's nephew from Tokyo had his wedding. Not sure if they speak English, since everyone at our table was speaking Japanese. This is a very nice, authentic, Japanese restaurant. Highly recommended. I would return.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Vinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing