We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great late night menu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi King

Sushi King
Ranked #627 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great late night menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sushi King has their late night special after 10:30. They give you a generous portion for the price, the food is good and the lady server is really nice. During regular hour the place is more expensive but the nigiri is usually of higher quality also. They also have a good selection of sake to choose from.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank thai t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ewa Beach
2 reviews
“Used to be good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Can someone please tell me what happened to this place. Both the food and service were horrible. We went there during lunchtime and we couldn't help but feel rushed. I went with a few of my old friends, hoping to catch up since it had been a while since we all go together. What was supposed to be a nice lunch turned into an awkward lunch with the hostess glaring at us to hurry. The sushi didn't taste fresh and the salmon was especially horrible. I might give it another try on a different day, but we left feeling disappointed. We still had a good time with each other though!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Asami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Midnight Specials are Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had an event that lasted until 9:30 p.m. and were starving! Sushi King to the rescue. They have very reasonably priced dishes that start at 10:30 p.m. Sometimes you think that late night specials are smaller portions, much like lunch specials. I had the chicken Katsu curry with 3 pieces of chicken, rice, curry, salad and miso soup for about $11 at a Japanese restaurant with leftovers for lunch the next day. The salmon with it's special sauce comes with a choice of 3 types of sushi too (along with the rice, salad, and miso soup). The service was very good and you can get liquor and green tea ice cream as well as a selection of sushi made to order and appetizers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ICURN-CCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
244 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“local Japanese restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

'local' means it is a bit on the salty side and extra on the carb side. Authentic Japanese food is delicate and subtle in its taste. Sushi King is known for their 'set' platters. Discounts are...early lunch, early dinner, or late evening on their 'set' platters. Not an expensive place but you will feel a little rushed to eat and leave (they need your table for the next customer....not a place for chit-chat or romance). Frequented by mostly locals, it is a good place to introduce yourself to Japanese food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kcchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Japanese Comfort Food at Home in Hawaii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

One of the good things about Hawaii is: being able to find a Japanese restaurant serving the kind of food you find in Japan-- at a reasonable price.
Sushi King, on Beretania St. below the University of Hawaii in Manoa is such a place for my family and visiting guests.

We have been going to Sushi King since the early '90s for their generously portioned combo plates of sushi, sashimi, tempura, salad, and assorted side dishes. Meals are served for lunch and dinner, with early bird specials from 5:30 to 6:45 p.m. and a late night menu after 10:30 p.m.
with special prices for select mixed combos.

The menu has a full range of sushi, sashimi and other popular izakaya side dishes as well as complete combo meals with two or three selections. Most full size dinners range from $22 on up, including a fresh tossed salad, a bowl of tonjiru, miso soup, rice and tea and a sliced California roll.

The sushi deluxe plate comes with a healthy assortment of fresh sashimi and is a favorite of mine. You can also order a nice sized, grilled ribeye steak with teri or ponzu sauce, or a deep fried pork tonkatsu plate. One of the best deals for the money is the Yosenabe soup served in a cast iron pot, boiling hot and overflowing with fresh seafood and won bok cabbage and long rice in a delicious soup broth and a side bowl of rice.

Service is authentically Japanese, with waitresses who are constantly in motion and attentive to every need. A full staff of sushi chefs shout out "irrashaimasu" to diners as they enter as in Japan, and "arigatoo gozaimasu" when they leave, seasoned preparers of delicate cuts of fresh fish and seafood.

The shelf behind them is lined with marked bottles of sake belonging to returning patrons...all satisfied, one is led to believe, in the quality of the restaurant and its sashimi.
A selection of beers and even some on draft make dinner complete. Most combination specials come with a whipped cream topped slab of fruit jello.

For the past twenty years, whenever we find ourselves puzzled and wondering where we should go for dinner, number one choice is inevitably Sushi King, the go-to place for reliable Japanese comfort food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Woody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi King also viewed

 

Been to Sushi King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing