We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive "Italian" food”
Review of Arancino di Mare

Arancino di Mare
Ranked #51 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: Arancino Restaurants has been serving authentic Italian cuisine in the heart of world-famous Waikiki to visitors from around the world. Its recipes reflect Napoli-style epicurean delights made with imported cheeses, meats and pastas from Italy incorporating fresh local seafood and produce creating unique Italian dining experience. The award-winning Arancino Restaurants have received high remarks by guests, who also include high-profile U.S. and Japanese celebrities. There are currently three Arancino locations – Arancino di Mare (Waikiki Beach Marriott), Arancino on Beachwalk, and our newest location Arancino at The Kahala (The Kahala Hotel).
Loomis, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Inventive "Italian" food”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to this restaurant because of the "chef's recipe" in one of the tourist magazines in our hotel. The chef is Japanese, and my husband had pizza with gorgonzola cheese and apples (note quotes above on "Italian"). We sat outside on a patio with trees and plants, very pleasant. After we ordered and were waiting for our food, we were looking around and noticed that we were the only non-Japanese people at the restaurant. Our waiter told us that they advertise widely in Japan. So that helped me to understand my salad which was a beautifully presented display of 2 cherry tomatoes, 3 clams, and a tiny "slaw". My husband liked his apple pizza and my entrée was small but tasty. Service was very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank westerngal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    446
    380
    104
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Breakfast~Not for Dinner or Vino”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We enjoyed two lovely leisurely breakfasts at Arancino di Mare this past week. Our group of four enjoyed the nice ocean breeze on Arancino's lovely patio. We ordered Yogurt with Fruit, The Assorted Berry Crepe, The Chocolate Panna Cota & Banana Crepe, The Mortadella Ham & Cheese Crepe and the Smoked Salmon Crepe. We each enjoyed our crepes so much that we returned Sunday to order the exact same thing. Our waitress was kind and courteous and suggested that we try the beverage bar, which was a great idea as Arancino offers a variety of fresh fruit juices: guava, pineapple and orange juice as well as coffee and San Pellegrino.
As our breakfast experience at Arancino di Mare had been such a good one we decided to return for dinner. We came with high expectations, but unfortunately our dinner experience was not the same. The restaurant was on a 45 minute wait when we arrived, so we made our reservation and returned 10 minutes prior to our time of seating. One member of our party of four stepped out to use the restroom while we were waiting and asked us to take our seat if we were called - intending to join us when he was finished. As our name was called, we began to follow our waiter to our table when we were stopped by the "manager" for only having 3 of our 4 members. We explained that our 4th member would be right back with us and that he wished for us to take our seats, but the manager refused to seat us until our fourth member returned. We found this to be rude and unnecessary. When we were seated we ordered a Large Caesar Salad to share which was very fresh and flavorful, but we were surprised by the very limited selection of wines available by the glass. For dinner we ordered the Scallopini di Vitello, the Fettucine alla crema, and the Spaghetti alla Pescatora. There were no complaints about the Scallopini, but the fettucine all crema was not good. The prosciutto was left in long salty sheets that were far too large to eat. The Spaghetti alla Pescatora too, was not good. The pasta was ok, but the seafood itself tasted like the water it had been boiled in, not like the garlic wine sauce in the description. We would not order either of these dinners again, but will definitely return for the crepes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CHERDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stay away!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This might seem very convenient, if you stay at the Waikiki Marriott and you are just arrived and you are starving and exhausted by the trip. But, do yourself a favor, just walk by and find something else close by. There's plenty of better alternatives!

I am from Italy, and I know something about pizza. This restaurant claims to be authentic Italian and, generally, I try to avoid these places like the plague. However, as I said, I was tired and starving and, what the hell, how bad can a pizza be?!

Well, apparently, it can be really bad! I had a pizza prosciutto e rucola that was a whopping $22 (which is overpriced evenfor Honolulu!). The crust was dry and stiff like a cracker, the taste was bland and very uneventful.

The service was quite slow (we waited more than 30 minuted to have our food delivered to our table and the restaurant was half empty, since it was 10pm).

I ended up paying almost $30 for a dreadful pizza and a beer. Definitely not worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level 6 Contributor
599 reviews
402 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Breakfast was ok!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went for breakfast and sat outside. Nice partially shaded patio. They offer an all you can drink coffee, fresh juice, hot tea and blood orange San Pelligrino drinks for $6. Good deal in terms of the cost of coffee and juice at other restaurants. I ordered the salmon crepe. It was good but not spectacular. For $11.95 I thought the restaurant skimped on the ingredients and used a small amount of salmon. My son had the berry crepe which looked very good but the portion was ultra small. The breakfast wasn't bad but a little overpriced for what one received.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TikiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This was close to our hotel and some tables had a view of the beach. The food was excellent (we had pasta and pizza). Service wa good too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frodo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arancino di Mare also viewed

 

Been to Arancino di Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing