We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Pig!”
Review of Royal Kitchen

Royal Kitchen
Ranked #317 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown Honolulu
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
463 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Get the Pig!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to try. It is much like a kolache except that the bread is 10x better. The sweet Hawaiian bread makes this a great dish. We tried the Portuguese sausage, the Kailua Pig and another pork that had a sweeter taste, I just don't remember the name. The pig was the best and the Portuguese sausage was a close second. We loved it. Awesome local breakfast food. Very inexpensive and worth the visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WesleyMCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great baked manapua.”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

If you like manapua, and want to take something back to where you are traveling from. Give this place a shot. Reasonably priced and easy to take home, it's a great treat to bring to your loved ones.

Helpful?
2 Thank Waisaipapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Baked Manapua”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Great baked char sui bao manapua and pork hash for snacking! Reasonably priced plate lunches. Good roast pork, shoyu chicken, and roast duck sides.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ramsie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An honest bun at an honest price”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I don't make manapua at home because of the amount of work it takes. Consequently, I appreciate that cheap dim sum of any kind comes at the price of exploited workers. The manapua at the Royal Kitchen are tasty, but they are not cheap. I hope that means that the workers get a wage more in keeping with the amount of their labor.

If you're on vacation, go there because the food is good, and you can afford it. If you're local, go there because you will get a good meal AND be supporting an honest enterprise.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerNoMore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Manapua in Town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was on my way to California and wanted to take something that would be appreciated and it sure was!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnh96813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing