We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An honest bun at an honest price”
Review of Royal Kitchen

Royal Kitchen
Ranked #303 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: Downtown Honolulu
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“An honest bun at an honest price”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I don't make manapua at home because of the amount of work it takes. Consequently, I appreciate that cheap dim sum of any kind comes at the price of exploited workers. The manapua at the Royal Kitchen are tasty, but they are not cheap. I hope that means that the workers get a wage more in keeping with the amount of their labor.

If you're on vacation, go there because the food is good, and you can afford it. If you're local, go there because you will get a good meal AND be supporting an honest enterprise.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerNoMore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Manapua in Town”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was on my way to California and wanted to take something that would be appreciated and it sure was!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnh96813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Manapuas!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very popular place for baked manapuas! Tried the Portuguese sausage and it was to die for - highly worth the trip!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Soft, warm buns.”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Tried the stuffed rolls. Some sweet, some savory. At a $1.30 each they were a decent deal. The ones with meat were a little light on the filling. The sweet ones were fantastic. I had purple sweet potato and coconut. Excellent. Area out front is a little seedy, with ample homeless population. Right on the canal, only a block and a half from the Foster Botanical Garden.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank micchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chinese Chicken salad (CCS)”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I ordered a party platter sized CCS. It was very tasty but didn't have a lot of actual chicken in it! Service was quick and friendly. A definite try for anyone visiting...

Helpful?
Thank MBF6609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing