We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL RICE!”
Review of Rainbow Drive-In

Rainbow Drive-In
Ranked #78 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ALL RICE!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I loved this place while in Honolulu. It's cheap, good, and easy to get to up Kapahulu from Waikiki. I ate Hamburger Steak a few times w/ALL RICE! Gravy All Over! Also the Mahi-Mahi plate. Both are good.

Is this great food? No, it's "Plate Lunch". Good, fast, and easy take out. Great calorie bombs after doing hikes or beach days. Very satisfying. Portions are filling and their gravy is very tasty.

Love you guys! Will def be back for more Ono Grinds!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSDeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    381
    157
    52
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I'll go again”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We went here for breakfast, the lady taking my order was very friendly. We got an order of french toast and pancakes. We got a table easily, there we’re plenty of places to sit. The breakfast was good, very filling. I’d like to try something else next time, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLTravelsinStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great local place, good food, good prices”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Who says you cannot eat cheap in Honolulu? I looked this place up as it was featured on Diners, Drive ins, and Dives on TV. The food was really good. I had a mixed plate with teriyaki beef. YUM! A Mixed plate is of course, two scoops of rice, Macaroni salad, and a main entrée. The whole plate was maybe 8 bucks and it was huge, I took some back to the hotel for a late night snack. There is not a lot of parking in the lot but there is plenty on the streets next to The Rainbow.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Why does this even have a good rating?”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place was the worst misuse of my fifteen dollars. The Loco Moco was bland and cold. The Shoyu chicken was so undercooked that my mouth tasted like chicken blood after eating it. I would never recommend this place to anyone. It just baffles me that the place has a pretty good rating on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaitanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Local Flavor”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Worth the visit--if you don't have to walk from Waikiki. Where the locals go for a quick, authentic, tasty, and fairly-priced meal. There's no ambiance, just concrete outside benches and tables, but the food was good and filing, and the people watching fun.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing