We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Buffet at Hilton, BUT PRICY”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Lanai

Rainbow Lanai
Reserve with OpenTable
Rainbow Lanai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #396 of 2,340 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $18 - $18
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Buffet at Hilton, BUT PRICY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

EXPENSIVE! But tasty food. They charge 30 bucks per person but I must say, the food there is great. They have french toast and pancakes which you can put maple or coconut syrup. They got sausage, eggs, omelets, and lots and lots of BACON! They also have a bunch of different fresh fruits which is nice. Some other stuff they have is bagels, toast, muffins, dumplings, cereal, pineapple juice, etc. If you're staying at the Hilton Village, this place is worth a try on a day when you're really HUNGRY!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    72
    70
    32
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HOLY EXPENSIVE BREAKFAST!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our first morning in Hawaii w/ go there w/ $8.00 off for adult meals...didn't make a dent in our bill. Kids had fruit and cereal. I felt like I had to eat the house to get money's worth. Strange Asian selection cuts into the normal food choices. Lots of fruit, cereal, and carbs...vs unique Hawaiian foods. Not to dine at twice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aloha2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great choice of food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent selection of food for breakfast only but expensive,
Staff are great especially with children, its a shame its not open for lunch or dinner as its location on the beach is outstanding. A buffet dinner at this location would be a winner, Come on Hilton.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank koutras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pricey breakfast but Great ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Rainbow Lanai is located within the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We were there for Sunday Brunch and the place was packed. Pastry and baked goods offered are quite extensive; a whole room is dedicated to them. Miso soup and congee are also offered along with the regular scrambled eggs, bacons, sausages, harsh brown and banana pancakes. It also has an omelette station. All food we tried were good. I gave this place a 4-star rating for the wonderful ambiance. This is an open-air restaurant with great view. Dining here in a beautiful day made this a great experience. Our waiter was also excellent. Our coffee was refilled without asking and dirty dishes were removed promptly. It is not cheap but not any more expensive than a Mother's Day Brunch offered in your neighbourhood.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

$30 pp is what you would expect for a buffet breakfast normally, but this place is not worth it. Food was food hall standard, definitely not an extensive selection as they state, atmosphere would only deserve credit if one was seated at the beach edge of the restaurant, coffee was bitter, too many birds. Really the standard of this restaurant is only worth 1/2 the price you are expected to pay. I give credit to the waiting staff however, as usual for Hawaiians they were very friendly & helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainbow Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing