We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Consistent Food!”

Kirin Restaurant Incorporated
Ranked #1,055 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Consistent Food!”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

I often have dinner here with a group of my friends (10 to 14). Here are dishes that are everyone’s favorite:

*Salt and Pepper Calamari & Salt and Pepper Uhu (uhu is a local fish also known as Parrot fish, it’s meat is white and has a fair amount of oil making it great for battering.) I usually order ½ to 1 order of each and have it combined on a plate. This possibly will be one of the best fried calamari dishes you’ll have in Honolulu.
*Sautee string beans with minced pork
*Lettuce wraps w/ either minced pork or you can ask for chicken
*Sesame pockets with Lamb & scallions or minced pork
*Smoked Tea duck
*Moo Shu Pork (sort of like a Chinese burrito)
*Walnut Shrimp

Basically everything is good but these are our favorites. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davealoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    21
    11
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Better Chinese Restaurants in Honolulu”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

A preferred restaurant by those who are from the homeland, and I would agree.

Helpful?
2 Thank DaPheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over charged and large tip was already on the bill.”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The food quality was quite good. The problem was that the bill was about $200 for 2 vegetable dish -half portion, a shrimp -half portion,tofu w/ spinach- half portion, 2 glass of house wine and lobster.

The head waiter had asked if we were from Japan and then gave me a bill with a healthily tip he had filled in.

Is this the Hawaiian way to treat a well travelled couple?

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seki5633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“They ripped me off!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I took 2 of my clients from Japan to Kirin Chinese restaurant only because they wanted to try... OMG!!!! The bill was $198 for 3 people and we had only one Tsingtao beer. They charged me $25.90 for 2 cups (you know how small the typical Chinese white cups are) of soup. 1 small lobster was $75.... I couldn't argue front of my clients so I asked for itemized receipt/bill. They were not happy but gave me one. I came home and called them back to complain then they said the soup had "shark fins"... shark fins just got banned in Hawaii and shark fins soup was crossed out on the menu. What they did was charged me for 2 bowls instead of 2 cups of soups intentionally. they also charge me tripple weight of the lobster. They agreed to credit me $50 after all because I told them that I will report to BBB.

I've heard some restaurants in Hawaii ripped off Japanese tourist but I never thought that it could actually happen to me!!!! Let's see if they are going to credit me back or not.... I will still report to BBB after this. Please tell all your friends about my terrible experience at Kirin Chinese Restaurant!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sakura868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Service with really good food!”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We found this restaurant on trip advisor. We loved the food and service. We stopped here for lunch on our way to Diamond Head. Prior to arriving at Kirin our car was burglarized at a local beach(Makapuu Point Beach). My wife was visibly upset. The owner's wife took notice and was apologetic for our misfortune. She gave all 6 of us free deserts and half the meal was "on the house". She refused to accept our tip as well. These owners are a class act, and serve some excellent Chinese food. Try them, you won't be disappointed!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crescent98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kirin Restaurant Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to Kirin Restaurant Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing