We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kakaako Kitchen

Kakaako Kitchen
Ranked #207 of 2,340 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Hawaii
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Good local food and mainland food. Good deals and the food is good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keoki96744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    97
    41
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Local delights served for breakfast lunch and Dinner extensive menu.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

A varied menu served in cardboard boxes very popular with the Locals and tourists too.
Daily specials $9.19 include meat loaf, stuffed cabbage,Katsu Curry and so ths list goes on.
We shared a rueben sandwich pastrami, sauerkraut,swiss cheese served with curly french fries.
There a number of sandwiches and burgers to choose from.
Open from Sunday 8am-5pm
Monday-Thursday 8am-9pm
Friday & Saturday 8am-10pm

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemaryc438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not your typical chain food restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Walking around the Ward Center area, and looking for a place for lunch (sorry David & Busters, McDonald's, etc. won't do while I'm in Hawaii), we stumbled on this place that was full of locals on the outside patio so we decided to try it. It was the "plate lunch" style that I've always heard about, so we had to try it. Glad we did. Simple, and most importantly not the same ole chain food stuff. I have to agree with another review, that the patio is not so strategically placed across from some dumpsters, but that does not seem to detour patrons. We'd eat there again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KDG_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Used to love this place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

On our recent trip to Oahu, my husband and I made it a point to go to this place for lunch. On prior trips, the food was great.

On this trip, we were both disappointed. My mahi mahi sandwich, which I asked to be cooked well done, was bloody-purple rare in the middle, and slopped with a sauce and mayo. I took it back for more cooking and the staff seemed to think it was my problem that the fish was rare. When it was returned to me, there was even more sauce and mayo on it, which made the taro bun a big soggy mess.

I ate the fish, but I probably shouldn't have, because I had stomach problems for the next 2 days.

My husband's pulled pork sandwich didn't make him sick, but it was nothing special.

Too bad, this place used to be so good! Won't visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCJCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I never get tired of eating here, and have never had a bad meal. The food is always great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank LK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kakaako Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Kakaako Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing