We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, good food”
Review of Tiki's Grill & Bar

Tiki's Grill & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Tiki's Grill & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 2,392 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Paokalani Ave.
Description: A hip, open-air restaurant with a retro South Pacific design and experience, Tiki's Grill & Bar features a menu highlighting the flavors of the islands prepared in an open exhibition kitchen. The restaurant appeals to residents and visitors alike and draws the late-night crowd with live contemporary Hawaiian entertainment every evening. Tiki's Grill & Bar provides a casual American and Pacific-Rim menu with flavors of the islands, using fresh local produce. Tiki’s offers lanai seating with beautiful sunsets on Kuhio Beach.
Savage, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great view, good food”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had a party of 8 at this restaurant with a reservation, but it did take a while to be seated though. There was live entertainment which was nice and if it hadn't been dark, we would have had a very cool view of the ocean. The food was good, but it is a bit spendy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,491
    1,290
    396
    99
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Campy atmosphere, great food!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

waiting at the bar for a table (we were walk-in's) we enjoyed a couple of drinks (Wednesday was "wine down wednesday, 1/2 off wine - great for me!) and met the bartender Rick. He took great care of us, even while juggling a very full bar and busy wait station. For dinner, Romulus provided great service, checking on us without hovering. He balanced attention without pushiness well. Food was very tasty and reasonably priced - curry short ribs were tender and flavorful and the macademia nut crusted mahi mahi was delicious!

Highly recommend - casual and fun but not your usual bar food...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annalisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved Tiki's!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The wife and I were on honeymoon, and Tiki's was one of only 2 places we ate at twice. The service was good, the food was great - albeit possibly a little fussy. The only negative we had was the photographer taking photos with a view to selling them as a momento - a bit tacky, but then you're in the touristy heart of Waikiki.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaiserfarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your honest feedback and for allowing Tiki's Grill & Bar to be apart of such a special moment. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and live entertainment, lousy service!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I would have rated this places five if it had not been for the really bad service. We were told there was a half an hour wait which surprised me because a lot of the tables in the front were empty. We were told that we can sit at the bar and order a drink and listen to the live entertainment while we wait for the table. My sister and I were fine with that except we sat for almost a half an hour before we were served. By the time we actually got our drinks we were told our table was ready. Once seated, our waitress was slow taking (and mixing up) and bringing our orders.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsCanada24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thanks for alerting us to this. We work hard to offer good food and friendly service, and I’m sorry that we didn’t meet your expectations. I hope you will give us another chance in the future. Do you happen to recall the name of your server or ticket number? We would like to coach that person to success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Drinks and appetizers”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Happy hour is from 2-5 pm for draft beers, gin and tonics, rum and coke, margaritas and killer Mai Tais. Appetizers are yummy. Great calamari and pork wings/shanks. Great view from the bar. Good service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_TikisGrill, Owner at Tiki's Grill & Bar, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for the note about "good service." It's comments likes these that make us work even harder!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiki's Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Tiki's Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing