We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow my review went from 5 to 1 stars”

La Cucaracha Mexican Bar & Grill
Ranked #1,731 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Waikiki
eugene
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wow my review went from 5 to 1 stars”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This place used to be awesome.
Now, the food is really overpriced.
They bring chips and salsa now, and there are about five chips and a spoon of salsa.
The food is not that great now, and spathe wait staff is awful.
I am never coming back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank underwaterhairdryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    141
    134
    107
    158
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I ate dinner there on April 7, 2013. We were very disappointed. We like Mexican food but this was not very good. We spent $50 on 2 meals, 1 glass of beer and 1 margarita. Not worth it! My tacos were so grease soaked they fell apart when I tried to pick them up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jone R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Large servings.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Looks pretty ordinary from the Street but once you are seated it has a great atmosphere with good selection of foods. The 4 of us ordered 3 mains and after complimentary chips and dip could barely manage to finish the large servings we got all of which were delicious.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank speaktruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Margaritas”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Complimentary chips to go with "the best margaritas in town". We were there for happy hour and only paid around $5 for our margaritas so very happy. Didn't eat a meal there but the menu looks really good. Margaritas are pretty awesome.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mostefinately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have the chimichanga”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I arrived late--close to 10 pm and closing time. Order a combo plate and with the advice of my server chose the chimichanga and taco. Food arrived promptly and was very good. Chips and salsa are provided free--refills aren't. Not a big place. Not a polished place. Had the feel of a neighbourhood hangout. I'd go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katydidit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cucaracha Mexican Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to La Cucaracha Mexican Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing