We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat like the locals...”
Review of ONO Hawaiian Foods

ONO Hawaiian Foods
Ranked #8 of 2,370 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Bellevue, Wa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Eat like the locals...”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were a party of 8, family and friends. We come here since year 2002. Everybody loved it, and wanted to come back. I enjoyed the Laulau pork but I sampled what others had and it was delicious. I'm not crazy about the Poi but not everybody is. Also had the beef curry and the meat was so tender. If you want to have fish go for lunch as we were told that they run out by dinner time. we went right before closing time and they stil seated us. The service was outstanding, actually I felt that I was sitting at grandma's table.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mykidsmomBellevue_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    242
    56
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Hole-in-the-Wall”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We loved this place. We felt a little intimidated when we went in by everything on the menu. Our waitress took us through the menu and made great recommendations. If you want the real deal, this is the place. My husband commented that he felt like the got a special home-cooked meal from grandma. Really fun to try. After dinner, go up the street to Leonard's (another local delight) for dessert.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank RebBradAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Original and very Ono”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

If you want original hawaiian food then this is the place to go. Its small inside but huge in flavor and atmosphere. Everyone who works here puts their love into each dish they make. Since my girlfriends family lives in Kauai we visit Hawaii about 4 times a year. We make it a point to stop by FIRST in Honolulu just to eat at Onos then continue to Kauai. Love the food, Love the people. Live the Islands.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlohaDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is as authentic Hawaiian as it gets. Chicken noodle soup for kids was good. My personal favorite was the Kailua pig.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DestinyUnbound1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Authentic Food”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Excellent place to try real, simple food - the service coul be a bit rude, but the original Poi, Ka'lua Pig and other delicious specialties compensate it in full.
Very good experience if you want hawaiian food without affectation.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ONO Hawaiian Foods also viewed

 

Been to ONO Hawaiian Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing