We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good beers, OK food”

Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #220 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Honolulu
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
801 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“good beers, OK food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've been here 2-3 times a year for 6 years running, and the food had always been very good. Their Märzenbier Munich style beer is one of my all-time favorites, and service has been very good. During our most recent trip (2 times last week), service and beers were still good but the food was not nearly as good as I remembered. Parking had risen to $5 on 11/1/12 (we found metered street parking, free on Sunday and after 6 pm), and the surrounding empty storefronts made the mall look pretty pathetic. The restaurant's spectacular view of Sand Island and the harbor was blocked both visits by two moored ships.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TJandTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    136
    37
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The food was ok...the service was pretty bad....
We had to ask several times for water, our poor waiter was all over the restaurant. I think they may have been understaffed. He seemed overwhelmed. The food was just ok. My friend ordered chips and they brought her fries and said...sorry we are out of chips. They should have come back and asked if she wanted something else. Another friend ordered another cocktail which never showed up. She wasn't charged for it but he had even come over and said it was on it's way. It never arrived.
I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mdluvs2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Terrific Beer, Good food, excellent value”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stopped in one day by accident really and was treated to a lovely lunch combined with an excellent microbrew lagar.

Mr. Frozenrose had the Kobe burger and I indulged in grown up macaroni and cheese...aka bowtie pasta in a jack/harvarti cream sauce with lobster, crab and shrimp. Uhhh Yummy!!

Our second visit was pretty much the same for a dinner. I had eaten such rich food for a couple of nights at BLT Steak I decided to order the pasta again. Second time it wasn't as good, too liquidy vs the previous version. the Mr's Kobe burger was as good as day one and the beer remained excellent. (which I never say about American beer so take that for what it's worth.

Service was standard pub service. They had a live band playing on the Friday night which was pretty good. Good value for the dollar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frozenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A tourist's restaurant”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our first stop

we had the sun set papaya salad (5 stars!)
fire roasted chicken, waterchesnut and spinach wrap
lemon pepper shrimp salad
ginger rice
fresh island pineapple and starberries

Atmostphere was laid back since it was on the beach front. Free wifi was available for the girls to instagram their food.

some wacky stores were close by, alot of statues in the area to take pictures with. Pigeons didnt bother me but they were flying pretty close

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheymoure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ocean front laid back restaurant.”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Party of 3 went on Mid week for lunch and enjoyed the serene weather. Unique location facing the ocean and a great view of sand island. We have been here few times and never disappointed. We had salad sea food combo, crab cake sandwich, chicken. Triple chocolate cake over ice cream on top is my favorite desert. Over all we had a nice time, tasty food and friendly service.

Pigeons was annoying us and we had to chase them frequently.

We recommend this for others as you would never be disappointed! Aloha!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USValib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing