We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to grab a burger”
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Ranked #54 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: "A must do in Waikiki!" is one of our most occurring descriptions in Trip Advisor reviews! We've got live music 2x a day that vibes amongst authentic music memorabilia and a guitar wave spanning two floors. Our open-aired Hawaiian design includes a stage for the best bands on the island performing classic and current pop and rock hits from 5-7pm and 9pm-close everyday. Enjoy happy hour specials from 3pm-7pm and 9pm-close everyday. Our island specialites include fresh fish tacos, Legendary Hawaiian cheeseburgers, and award winning tropical cocktails. And don't forget to pick up one of our Honolulu classic Hard Rock T-shirt or sweatshirt. We are located at the corner of Kalakaua Avenue and Beach Walk Avenue in the heart of Waikiki.
Monticello, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to grab a burger”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We arrived with a group of 62 people. We had pre-ordered and this made the process of serving pretty east. We still had to place orders for what we pre-ordered but it was no big deals and I had kept a list of who ordered what and reminded each person as they entered. The music was pretty good thought didn't start until we were almost done with our dinner. Nice decor and the seating area was roomy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 13Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Waikiki, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Aloha 13Christine,

Thank you for writing this review about our cafe. Sounds like you had things pretty organized that night, double checking is one of our corner stones.Glad you enjoyed the live music. We hope you will come back the next time your in Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Andy Oreskovich
General Manager
Hard Rock cafe Honolulu
808-955-7383
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    648
    223
    59
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard Rock is hard to knock”
Reviewed December 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was good, the service was good (some training was going on) and of course the music was loud and not that great,,,,but acceptable.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank StevenR1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Waikiki, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Aloha StevenR1943,

Thank you for your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I am glad that you enjoyed the service and the food! We take our training program seriously to ensure we are developing staff that help create authentic experiences that rock for our guests, so thank you for your understanding.

Thank you for your time and I hope you will be returning to Hawaii soon!

Mahalo,
Andy Oreskovich
General Manager
Hard Rock Cafe Honolulu
808-955-7383
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food ok, bad service”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The food was okay, nothing special, same with the drinks. Service was really bad. Our waitress asked told us she'd be back with the check in a minute and we didn't see her for 45 minutes. There were only a few other couples there so I'm not sure why the service was so slow. The atmosphere is nice. If you want an overpriced, mediocre meal with bad service but a nice atmosphere, this is the place to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trisha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Waikiki, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Aloha Trisha P,

Thank you for your feedback about your visit to Hard Rock Cafe Honolulu. As much as it pleases me to see that you enjoyed our atmosphere, I am very sorry about the service you had that day. I assure you that a 45 minute wait for the check is far from our standards here. I am also sorry the food and drinks were not to your liking. We strive to offer menu items using the finest ingredients with delicious drinks to complement, so I am sorry if your experience with us was otherwise.

Please check your inbox as I am sending you a direct message to further investigate the matter.

Thank you for your time.

Mahalo,
Andy Oreskovich
General Manager
Hard Rock Cafe Honolulu
808-955-7383
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“franksgogetter”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

back in 2006 I stopped in an ate there, the food was great an had lots to chose from , the service was also great in the upstairs Cafe , went there for Lunch and Dinner, ate there two times of my ten day stay in Hawaii every thing was just great, my best was happy hour . the prices on everything was good ,from food, drinks, an even for souvenirs, there music is like being back home, an the staff was very (GREAT).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franksgogetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Waikiki, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha Fraksgogetter,

Thank you for writing the GREAT review about our cafe. Two times in 10 days?! That is awesome.So glad you had a good time. We hope to see you again the next time your in Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Andy Oreskovich
General Manager
Hard Rock cafe Honolulu
808-955-7383
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibiscus Coast, Auckland,
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Staff in the shop were about delivering the best service I experienced in Waikiki. It was a wow!! Upstairs to the cafe, it's a big layout and for the two times we went for food (Lunch and dinner) it certainly gets it's share of patrons staying on to enjoy the music they provide. I'm definitely going back there if I go to Waikiki. Great selection of food, and the staff were very attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MidimanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HardRock_Waikiki, General Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Aloha MidimanNZ,

Thank you for writing this great review about our cafe. I'm so delighted our serves WOW'd you. So glad you enjoyed the food and live music. Hope to see you again the next time your in Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Andy Oreskovich
General Manager
Hard Rock cafe Honolulu
808-955-7383
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing