We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun little "hole in the wall"”
Review of Fatty's Chinese Fast Food - CLOSED

Fatty's Chinese Fast Food
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fun little "hole in the wall"”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a quick and tasty dinner at Fatty's while in Honolulu. It is not fancy at all, but sitting at the bar, eating your food while watching all the action in the kitchen (which is literally right in front of you) was time well spent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toad55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    49
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franklinton, LA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Son's Introduction to Chinese Food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

30 years ago our son got his first taste of Chinese food here. You know where he had to go when we spent our first day in Waikiki.
He still loves the food there!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank day-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very fast & very cheap”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Sit at the counter and watch the chefs at work. This is very simple, fast and very cheap Chinese food. My travelling companion loves it, me less so but you can eat for $10 a head so it's hard to complain. On my last visit I overheard the guy sitting next to me say that he's been going to Fatty's every year for the past 15 years so it's doing something right.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travellr99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, cheap food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very similar to good quality food court Chinese food. Family had 2 items with chow mein, the cheaper meals. I ordered the chicken mushroom chow mein which is made to order. I really enjoyed it. We took our meals to the marketplace food court to eat and as it turns out a little hula show. Would eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank experience_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in the Area”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I highly, highly recommend getting lunch and dinner here because it is not only great food overall, but it is cheap and you are getting a local flavor. Get the half duck for ten dollars. It's amazing! And the lunch specials are great, especially when they are fresh (just wait ten minutes until one bucket is empty and then sit down and order the freshly made item).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank evanbonobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fatty's Chinese Fast Food also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing