We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some overhaul in downstairs pub”

MOOSE McGillycuddy's
Ranked #153 of 2,340 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $0 - $14
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Description: It's a great bargain and there aren't many in Hawaii!
Moncton, New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs some overhaul in downstairs pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

They need to hire better bar tenders for their downstairs pub....those girls need a refresher course in good manners and taught how to smile to the customer.......if they expect to get a tip for their surly ways they better think twice. On the other hand, the bar tenders in the upstairs pub are the greatest...they take their time to welcome you and make you feel welcome.

The "wings" and "tacos" are great...no complaints there....the food is enjoyable and you get a lot on your plate.

All in all, go upstairs if you want better service....you'll have a chance to mingle and have a great time...especially on Tuesday Nights when the drinks are $1.00, $2.00 and $3.00 from 7:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m. It gets quite busy, so it's wise to go early...great music and dancing till the wee hours. "Tats" and Dave in the upstairs pub are the greatest bar tenders I've met in a long time.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cam1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    274
    105
    29
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Service & Happy Hour Specials”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We went there to eat and watch a Vancouver Canuck playoff game.They sat us at a table with a good view of their TV's. Order some drinks (a Mai Tai for 3.00)!! Once we figured out what we wanted to eat we gave our order to our waitress but asked her to hang onto them as we weren't quite hungry. She said just to give her a sign and she would put the order in. About 40 minutes later we gave her a wave and our meals arrived not too long after. GREAT Sevice and wonderful staff. Again they have some great specials and meals were good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank donna_5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast and cocktails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

We first visited here for cocktails after walking past and seeing their excellent Happy Hour promo. The cocktails were amongst the best I've ever tasted and they had a great selection. During Happy Hour they were only $4! Beer was about $3 during Happy Hour. Service was great and we were very impressed. Outwith HH they do $3 mai tai, great place to visit. When reading through one of the many visitor guides available in Honolulu I spotted a voucher for 2 for 1 breakfast here so we decided to give it a try. It didn't disappoint! The portions were excellent, great choice and really tasty. We would have visited more had we been in Honolulu for longer. Wish I could go there for a cocktail right now!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanvegas489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

I was a bit leary about going to Moose's for breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised. The service and food was very good. They have a good selection of breakfast items. It is a bar by night, but aside from the layout, you couldn't tell. It wasn't smelly or dark as some bars are. We found a coupon in the best of Oahu guide, I understand they are also in the visitors guide. Glad we tried it.

Helpful?
1 Thank photogal1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartselle, AL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was one of our favorite places to eat while we were on the island. Lots of choices and everything we tried was delicious.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOOSE McGillycuddy's also viewed

 

Been to MOOSE McGillycuddy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing