We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchids

Orchids
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 2,340 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Lewers Street
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“elegant and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I'm no connoisseur but I do enjoy a tasty meal. The selections were excellent; a salmon prepared in a sous vide style: very moist and flavorful. The grilled heart of romaine was different for me but very nice. The waiter was very helpful in selecting dishes. I would definitely recommend this for dinner but it is a bit pricey.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HI_Traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    283
    86
    49
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We have enjoyed breakfast and dinner at Orchids on a previous trip so we were keen to try their legendary Sunday brunch. Wow, what a selection! As always, very elegant and relaxing and impeccably prepared and presented food. I booked a month in advance and could only get a 2.00pm reservation so it was more lunch than brunch for us but both breakfast and lunch options were still available and being replenished constantly. Well worth the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Griswalds2074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Romantic, exquisite moonlight dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate at Orchids for our first meal together as newly weds. It was perfect. The ambiance was breath taking and the food was "to die for". I would rather dine at Orchids than any Ruth's Chris on the planet.

My wife had the poached salmon and I the snapper. The salmon was poached to perfection. The snapper, although recommended as a favorite of patrons for many years, was good but left me wanting more salmon.

Suit and tie were not required. I wore a Hawaiian style button down shirt and tan slacks and my wife wore a dress. We saw diners in polo shirts.

The waiters were very nice. They seemed eager to please. Several waiters took pictures and answered our questions.

Overall, it was a great experience and we will do it again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icesurfer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
199 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Our server was good. My drink with the guava was good. My fish with the shiitake mushrooms was okay. The foie gras was okay. The lobster bisque was okay. The lobster ravioli was okay. The coconut cake was okay. Being next to the ocean was okay too. Warning, you can't wear dress shorts with a dress shirt. As a guy you must wear pants. The dress code is enforced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diningprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic moonlight dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The food and ambiance was great. Go early and enjoy cocktails and pupus at the House without a Key at the same location before dining. The local Hawaiian music each evening is very special. Orchids is known for their fish dishes. They did not disappoint. A must for us each trip to Oahu.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet36942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchids also viewed

 

Been to Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing