We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business dining event”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orchids

Orchids
Reserve with OpenTable
Orchids is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 2,340 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $75
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Lewers Street
Potomac, Md. USA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Business dining event”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

About 30 of us had dinner at Orchids. The salad with jumbo shrimps was almost a meal in itself. However, the fish entree was dry and the mashed potatoes were like a starch paste, not up to a fine dining experience. The dessert was a huge slice of coconut cake, twice the size of a normal serving. It would have been better with some ice cream next to it. The service was excellent.
Perhaps serving such a large group made the chef forget to time the fish properly. As for the mashed potatoes, it's back to the drawing board! We expected better food from a restaurant in such a posh setting. Stick to the shrimp salad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoxiePotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    283
    86
    49
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, CA
Level Contributor
215 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Expensive, but worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Many high end restaurants charge an arm and a leg, and Orchids is no different. But you get absolutely first-rate service and food. The veal chop was the best we've had, anywhere, the beef cheeks with lobster were perfection and the sea bass was juicy and tender. Go for a special occasion and treat yourself to a top-notch dining experience. We also enjoyed their Sunday brunch which will also cost you an arm and a leg and then some, but it's so worth it if you have a good appetite. They offer so much variety of everything and nothing was short on taste or quality. We had no room for dinner that day after brunch. Be sure to make reservations for either brunch or dinner.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stepsinthesand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“High Tea Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

2 of my closest friends and I decided to have the high-tea at Halekulani Hotel (recommended by a friend) and this was a memorable experience. Our server, Joshua, was excellent. He explained our options at time of ordering and when the mini cakes/sandwiches/scones came out. He refilled our tea. You have the choice to have the tea iced or hot; I had the Queen Emma Rose (hot) and it was an excellent black tea with no milk needed. The scones were my favorite - have them while they are hot and the spreads were delicious. This experience was far more superb to the high-tea we have back at home. It makes me think twice having high tea at any other hotel. Note - this hotel has a resort attire policy - no flip flops. Tip - Allott 2 hours or more for this experience. Once you sit down and feel the breeze, you may never want to get up.

Helpful?
1 Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The relaxed elegance of a South Pacific breeze pervades. If I could afford to partake, I would try everything on Orchids' menu - twice.
To me, Orchids is a jewel, and the perfect finishing touch for a special occasion and a long anticipated vacation. Every detail was memorable from the careful attention of our waiters to the beautiful presentation and flavor of the foods.
It was a birthday and anniversary celebration for us. There is not a change we would make in our evening's experience at that outside table facing the sea.
Our appetizers were Ahi Crudo and Seared Scallops - both were deliciously prepared and indicative of great things to follow.
They were the Steamed Onaga (red snapper) and Olive Oil Poached Salmon. Snapper with shiitake mushrooms, and fresh salmon with pistachio glaze - heavenly (even without Diamond Head and halos of tropical blossoms).
What is said about the coconut cake cannot be denied; it's not the signature desert without good reason. The Lychee/Strawberry Fraisier was also wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AllPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with a good friend at a corner table on the patio of Orchids. In the background was Diamond Head, which was lit in pink hues during the lingering sunset. In the background was live Hawaiian music playing at the House without a Key. Table cloth, nice crystals, a clear summer evening and the smell of salt air and flowers in the air.
And then there was the food. Excellent, as always (we've tried to get back here whenever we come to Hawaii). A great native fish, cooked to perfection, with an interesting but not too assertive sauce. Interesting wine (we order by the glass from a small but talented set of offerings, not too expensive, but a nice range of comfortable to adventurous).
I guess it is obvious, we like this place. If you want a quiet, relaxing, upscale restaurant experience in one of the nicest settings you can find in Waikiki (seems like oxymoronish, but true), Orchids is the place. It is not as exclusive as its sister restaurant in the same hotel, but it also is appreciably less, with food that is fit for any foodie.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jn0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing