We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Big Hit”

Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 2,357 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Ohua & Paoakalani
Description: Serving its award-winning Asian-Pacific cuisine that has become a local favorite, our seaside eatery is famous for preparing mouth-watering seafood dinners for our welcomed guests.
Southwest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Big Hit”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Wonderful sushi and other seafood. Excellent appetizers. The service was friendly and professional. Yes, expensive, but all food in Honolulu is expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthwestCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    244
    78
    18
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was very skeptical about this restaurant, we just happened to be staying in the hotel where this is located. In my experience I haven't had much luck with hotel restaurants, until now that is! We had sushi which was fantastic but what blew us away was the foi gras that we had. It was probably the best we have ever had. Service was great as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank house007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
120 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“two times, two hits”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

we were looking for good, restaurant style, sit down sushi. This place has it in spades. The inside is a bit "cafeteria" cold and too well lit for our tastes but the outside balcony is just perfect. Romantic, lots of street action etc. The sushi was really good, no complaints at all. We were staying at the Hilton resort at the other end of town so its a bit of a hike, but nice during the sunset. We went twice during out last visit and both times it was really good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simoneltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service but a bit pricey”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I missed reading the reviews about going early or on Monday nights so we paid full price and found it a little pricey. The food and service were great although I must admit we are not Japanese connoisseurs. We ordered the tuna roll for my daughter thinking it would be similar to Australia but the tuna was raw and not cooked. My husband loved one of the dishes with mango in it but I can't remember the exact name.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Masterofthemkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE AND EXPENSIVE”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

On October 21, I made a reservation with two our anticipation and when we get to the place they made us wait around 10 minutes and then told us that if we don't care they can sit us inside not at the balcony as we request in the reservation, we accept and order 5 shushi rolls and where the worst rolls that we ever met in our lives, but because we are very hungry we eat them.
After dinner we go to Waikiki beach, in front of the restaurant and have to return to our hotel because everyone where sick because the food on Sansei. That's why I told you that is the worst Sansei restaurant that we ever eat, we where several times al the Sansei in Waikoloa Beach in Big Island and it's great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rtejadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing