We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific! Alan Wong Is A Master!”

Alan Wong's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Alan Wong's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 2,350 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Hawaiian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Punahou Street and McCully Street
Description: Consistently voted as one of Hawaii's best restaurants, James Beard award-winning Chef Alan Wong uses the freshest locally grown produce and the bounty of the Pacific Ocean to create local favorites with a contemporary twist. Inspired by the unique ethnic influences found in Hawaii today, his menu reflects Hawaii's cultural diversity of its people, traditions, and lifestyles. "Taste Hawaii."
Roseland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
740 reviews
519 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Terrific! Alan Wong Is A Master!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Alan Wong is a master. Great food and great service. We ordered a la carte. Excellent passion fruit margarita with a shot of the cold pressed lilikoi on the side. Loved the 'opihi shooter (like an ocean snail), and Da Bag was Ono! Small claims, imu Kalua pork, and broth steamed in a foil covered oven dish. Wow! Loved it so much, we bought the New Luau Cookbook with the recipe in it. Tasty escargot styled lobster bites. Delicious onaga. Great pineapple "shave ice" styled dessert. Two dining areas. We were seated in the glass covered room wiyh a nice view of the mountains. The second floor professional/retail building was no detriment whatsoever. Okay, it's not on the beach, but it is a grear restaurant with a casual grace and style. The cuisine of Alan Wong is worth a journey! Mahalo!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    252
    109
    56
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't go wrong here”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I are huge foodies and we always do a lot of research before we travel on where to eat. We decided on Alan Wongs based on the reviews on TA. This particular night we dined with another couple (also foodies) and the 4 of us really enjoyed our meal here. We got the classic tasting menu based on our waiters suggestion and we are glad we did. The highlight of the menu was the lobster and then the beef short rib. So melt in your mouth!! The coconut dessert was surprising light for the generous size they gave. I was too full to even have any dessert but before I knew it I had finished the lot. Next time we are back we hope to try the other menus. It's a shame the restaurant is not located in a nicer area but the food is worth the $10 taxi fare (one way) from Waikiki.

Helpful?
1 Thank iheartaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious gormet”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

One of my last meals before I moved back to the mainland and one of the best everything we had was exceptional! This is a fresh lighter healthier cuisine! Friendly service great selections!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leilani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

One of the best meals ever. Must have the ahi sashimi and avocado stack on wontons, but it is huge and should be shared or even main course. Wish they had told us that because we were rather full. But that didn't stop us from thoroughly enjoying our main course of onaga (signature dish) which was exceptional. You must love ginger, however. Service was lovely although we had the only bad server there (Edward). Didn't ruin our evening but we would have enjoyed someone more personable and less self-interested. Reservations are a must prob at least a week in advance.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Loebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“HideAway Gourmet Gem”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

At first you wonder if the off-the-beaten path office building could possibly be home to a good restaurant let alone a grand gourmet one!~ Trust us this is the ultimate hideaway for spectacular service and fabulous food. Absolutely order the foiegras toast to dip into the tomato martini! And follow with lobster in the escargot plate! A never to be forgotten meal and experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alan Wong's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Alan Wong's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing