We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Waikiki”
Review of Duke's Waikiki

Duke's Waikiki
Ranked #33 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Best food in Waikiki”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was expensive however our best meal in Waikiki. Thoroughly recommended although we had to wait 30mins to get in on a busy evening. The steak/lobster combo was good. Also there's a complimentary salad bar so no need for starters (just help yourself to salad selection before your main).

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank p0lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,465
    3,585
    1,180
    250
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great salad bar!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We totally filled up on the salad bar! The ribs were great and the atmosphere is top notch! Worth repeating on every visit! Hula pie is also a MUST!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
526 reviews
441 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good salad bar”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I ended up filling up on salad, so when they said they didn't have my meal I wanted, I didn't end up ordering anything else. The rest of the group really enjoyed their meals, there were about 10 of us, so we covered most of the menu. It's a good spot to eat at!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank jaime w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great food and excellent service”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent a week in Honolulu and made a point of booking this restaurant in advance asking for a table with a view as advised by friends. We were not disappointed. The view was lovely. The food was great which was an accomplishment given we had just debarked a 5* cruise ship. The service was so friendly we felt great about giving the staff the tip that we are not used to giving in Australia. If you get a chance to eat here do it, the location is fantastic and after dinner you can wander around Waikiki and take in the atmosphere at night or shop till you drop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Food Deal in Waikiki”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We made a reservation at Dukes for lunch, and got there about 11:15. They had a very nice "front row" seat available, so we were right over the activity at the pool, and looking at the water. I had not known that Dukes is primarily a buffet, but after looking at the menu, found that looked like a real bargain for Waikiki.
I was really surprised at how good the food was. I mean, it was a buffet, so it was not the best meal I have ever had. But I will say the Kahlua Pig was the best I had in Hawaii. (out of 2) The staff was very good and as attentive as they needed to be. They even opened the buffet a little early (it normally opens at 11:30) because people were waiting. The buffet included a very nice salad bar, with multiple prepared salads. And a separate area for hot foods. They even had a made to order pasta area as well as another customized dish (I think soup?) that I did not try. I was happy eating the Kahlua Pig and salads, so did not try all the options they had out.
Overall, we were pleased with the experience and very pleased with the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duke's Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing