We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food!”
Review of Duke's Waikiki

Duke's Waikiki
Ranked #32 of 2,405 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great view and food!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our first night on the island and after walking around, we decided to check Duke's out. The wait for the main restaurant was pretty long, but someone told us about the Barefoot Bar and after a brief wait he was able to find us a table right on the railing overlooking the beach with a great view of the sun setting.

I had the fish tacos and they were outstanding. Priced reasonably for the area and good portions. My wife had the veggie burger and really enjoyed that too.

The view is what I'll remember most. Beautiful setting watching the people on the beach, the boats and the sunset. Great photo opportunity any time of the day. It's worth it to wait for a railing seat if you have time. We got lucky with the person who helped us find our table very quickly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nittanydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,550
    3,636
    1,201
    250
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estevan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very busy, but very good”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived there without reservation at around 630 pm, they had no problem with that and it was about a 10 min or less wait, we were seated with a ocean view ( didn't even request it) considering how busy it was we must have been lucky! They have a all you can eat salad bar which was very good, having tons of selection even for the pickiest eater I would assume. My wife ordered hula chicken which is very similar to teriyaki chicken, I tried it and it was very flavourful. I ordered the seafood pasta which had shrimp, calamari, scallops and octopus I believe in it, it had tons of flavour and was so good. So even tho it is a very busy place, don,t be scared to try it out even without a reservation, maybe just go a little early! It really is a neat place with great views!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilmer, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“You better get reservation”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Went there for dinner one night and found out we would have to wait 1.5 hours for a table since we did not have a reservation. We were able to sit at an outside table within about 45 minutes but they do not serve the full menu, only sandwiches and salads. The outside table did have a great view of Waikiki Beach and lit tiki torches.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DownsFamily622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“wonderful breakfast buffet”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This has to be the best breakfast deal in Honolulu. It's $16.95 and is sumptuous. we ate breakfast several mornings before we found Duke's and always paid more for a single serving. everything is fresh and delicious. It includes all the fresh juice you want and that right there is worth a bunch. do yourself a favor and go to Duke's for breakfast

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CA
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly Aloha spirit”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate at Dukes several times and at all hours. The staff is the friendliest bunch!
The breakfast buffet is delicious and plentiful. The drinks and food are perfect and priced fairly for the area. It is beach casual and loads of fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristiKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing