We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Eat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke's Waikiki

Duke's Waikiki
Ranked #33 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
TUCSON
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

love the food there there lunch is great love the burgers and dinner was great my family ate there about 6 times of our week stay the people there sre so nice and helpfull

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AZMAN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,034
    3,329
    1,104
    232
    112
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Dukes is Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great service, gluten free menu options, pretty view of ocean, beach, pool area. Had both dinner and breakfast. Always stuck with a fish/rice type dish. Salad bar has plenty of variety.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Polecat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They run a good business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Duke's is a large touristy kind of place upon first glance. However, even though I was a tourist I went with locals who still love this place. The salad bar isn't 'fancy' but it has a ton of great salads and sides. The drinks are strong and reasonably priced for waikiki. I ordered a steak and requested it medium well - it came out well done and while it didn't taste terrible, the waitress asked how it was and I showed her that it was well done. She said that was not acceptable and insisted on taking it back for me. The next steak that came out was perfect and delicious. They were also gracious enough to take it off the bill. I admire that!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mgoldin401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“really fun place to go for Waikiki ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Dukes is a famous place in Waikiki and tourists and locals go there for its fun and on the beach ambience. I get the fish sandwich, mahi-mahi and its always delicious, along with a yummy pina colada. Sit at the bar for a really personal experience as the bar tenders are over the top in friendliness and attentiveness though very busy. Floor service is also mostly friendly. It sits on the beach mid Waikiki so you get to see the tourists sunning and playing.....Dukes has a sit down restaurant (which can be extremely busy on weekends and a bar restaurant which is first come, squeeze in, go at off hours if you don't want to wait, when you get to the hostess stand just say you want to go to the bar and veer to the left....

I don't think the food is spectacular (my fries are almost always a bit cold), but its good, fresh, and filling..biggest con is the seats are wood and very hard!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank puddyfoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun place especially on Sunday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I made reservations to eat at Dukes on Sunday before we left Illinois. I'm so glad we did. We got a table at the edge closest to the beach. We were there for sunset and it was beautiful! ( if
You don't like bright sun in your eyes- ask for a table further inside). The salad bar was great and our vegetarian daughter loved all the choices beyond basic lettuce salad. It was fun being so close to the band and watching the people dance and have a good time! Food was good and priced as expected. Again, if you don't want to be so close to loud music, just ask for a table further inside.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Duke's Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing