We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool but needs good Coffee”
Review of Leonard's Bakery

Leonard's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 33 Bakeries in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cool but needs good Coffee”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Classic place, Vintage feel, but can you get some Kona coffee and some real cream not powder? Friendly service and Cool sign. My kids liked feeding birds I am sure the owners liked that. Sorry about that. Hawaii is an awesome place and this is part of the reason why. I have to have 100 characters so I keep writing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank shawn12505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,184
    1,313
    391
    50
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great place to start a tour around island”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The donuts here are incredible, made fresh every day. It's a bit out of the way, but it's been here 50 years and has become legendary and lives up to its legend. For anyone driving around Oahu, I recommend getting up early and stopping here first for coffee (around 8 AM) before the tour buses arrive.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, OR
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“All that good......really?”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The TA reviews lead us to this place, a longish walk from Waikiki or a short drive. It's small, about a 7 car parking lot, with one big case of baked goods and a cooler for cold drinks. Coffee and tea also available. Possibly we are spoiled, we have a wonderful bakery in our local town and it is the equal of this place in more ways than size, cleanliness and some tables and chairs to enjoy your purchases. The malasadas are unique to Hawaii apparently, and they are good but not crazy good. About 3 blocks closer to Waikiki is a modern Safeway with a huge in-store bakery, their products are slightly industrial but they have more variety at half the cost.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I don't have much to comment on other than the hot, fresh, regular malasadas. They are fantastic and a great value.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeshamokin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“The best looking pastries. Taste great too.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Picked up a bunch of malasadas for dessert. All outstanding. Also tried a strawberry guava muffin which was sweet and moist. About a buck a piece.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank micchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonard's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Leonard's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing