We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor version of Shipley's Donuts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonard's Bakery

Leonard's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 37 Bakeries in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Portuguese, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Poor version of Shipley's Donuts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We tried Leonard's on a trip towards Kailua beach. Seeing there was parking, we thought "wow, this must be a great place". After managing to find a parking place, we waited in line at the entrance to try a Portuguese wrap and a haupia. Bottom line: to us, it was all hype. The tastes were not bad, but we get them at Shipley's donuts as well. I really don't understand what the hype is all about.

Oh well, "les gouts and le couleurs, il n'est faut pas discuter", as the French say.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paokara1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,888
    1,203
    359
    48
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

You MUST stop in here, to get a hot malasada!!!!!!!!!! It's a different kind of warm doughnut...more dough-ier than a Krispy Kreme. It's a Portugese snack, but seeing as how Hawaii is a "melting pot", this made it's way to H.I., & has been a staple ever since.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dione P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Warm malasadas are a nice breakfast treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stopped in Leonards on our way to a hike one morning and got some nice warm cinnamon malasadas to take with us! They were delicious. I'm not sure how these Portugese treats made their way to Hawaii (ill have to look up the history) but they are worth the stop at Leonard's!

We also got a Lilikoi cupcake and a pinapple turnover while we were there - yum yum.

There is ample parking in their lot but go early and beat the crowd!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_0290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth the trip away from the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My wife and I love freshly baked cakes and pasteries, so after a good breakfast buffet that morning, we just fancied a light but tasty bite around 2pm. A friend recommended Leonards Bakery and gave us directions.
The shop was quite a way up Kapahulu Avenue from the beach but once inside, we knew that the walk was going to be worth it.
We bought drinks and a selection of cakes......I just love anything with chocolate and cream and here we was spoilt for choice.
The bakery is almost opposite a large Safeway supermarket from where we caught the bus back to our hotel....just could not face that walk back after such a memorable feast!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dai44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We took a side trip on the bus to come here based on a recommendation but only found it to be ok. It was not worth taking the time to seek it out. It was a good donut, but that's about it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyflyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonard's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Leonard's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing