We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open at 5:30am... sort of”
Review of Leonard's Bakery

Leonard's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 33 Bakeries in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
Needham, Massachusetts, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Open at 5:30am... sort of”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Suffering from jet lag, we arrived at 5:15am. The lady, even though she saw there was a small group outside, took her time opening at 5:40 am even though the sign said "5:30". Well, it was worth the wait. Those hot donuts were really good. Grab a box and head back to your hotel for good coffee! That's what we did. Enjoyed them right on the beach, looking at Diamond Head, right along with the scores of other tourists also dealing with jet lag. We got a whole assortment of the Masassadas. Not "light" by any stretch. But very good. it was a nice break from our days at "Eggs and Things".

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,275
    1,339
    397
    51
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Malasadas!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This place has the absolute best Malasadas on the island! They hot, warm, gooey, and so sugary sweet! You have got to try one! If you can't get to the actual bakery, they have a food truck in the Waikele shopping center near Old Navy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Yummmm”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This place is very popular. A place where the locals hang out. We had to wait about 15 minutes just to order but it was so worth it. The bakery has so many different things to choose from.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 0501MVKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth standing in line!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Malassadas served warm......wow! Came here 3 times! Also tried the Portuguese sausage wrap (in pao doce, which is a sweet bread). Great combination of not too sweet & savoury.
But the main reason to come is for the Malassadas....a light Portuguese type of donut, so light and airy, rolled in sugar ...... melts in your mouth & will bring you back for more. They also have them stuffed with a few different choices.....all were very very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mamr1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tasty treats, slow service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I realize this is a Honolulu establishment, but I still appreciate quicker, friendlier service than I received the two times I visited last week. The counter person stood and looked around, avoided eye contact with me for a good five minutes before he declared, "I can help you now." If I hadn't promised to take malasadas to a family gathering, I probably would've walked out. I'm glad I stayed and dealt with the bad service, because the treats were so tasty. My first malasada was haupia (coconut) and I loved every bite! I also had a mango one and coconut macaroons. The macaroons were the best I'd ever had - so fresh and perfect consistency. I loved them so much, I mailed some to Grandma in Arkansas. I'll probably return to Leonard's, but will be prepared to wait for service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HootCheech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leonard's Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Leonard's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing