We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent steaks!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hy's Steak House - Waikiki

Hy's Steak House - Waikiki
Reserve with OpenTable
Hy's Steak House - Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 2,326 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Waikiki
Cross street: Uluniu Avenue
København
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had the tenderloin and the prime rib. First off, the tenderloin where cooked to perfection and was as good as they come. But the prime rib, which seemed to be reeeeeeaaaally slow cooked, was one of the best pieces of meat I've ever tasted. Incredibly tender and tasty. The service was perfect, very attentive and genuine but without being too much of either. The atmosphere is very cozy, it feels like your dining in an old library with an open kitchen/grill in the midst. It is at the high end of the price scale but hands down worth every penny!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PapsiFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    194
    65
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food, service, ambience and location of Hy's Steak House cannot be surpassed. As a visitor to Hawaii, we didn't want to dine in one of those steakhouse chains that we have at home. Hy's is a terrific answer to the Ruth's Chris or Morton blues. The service was impeccable as a tuxedoed waiter took our drink order and promptly served excellently made cocktails. The restaurant itself is dark wood and white linen- very upscale and diners were dressed appropriately- I never saw tee-shirts or shorts. The steaks are grilled front and center in an enclosed area and it was fascinating to watch the chef perform his magic. Dessert was great and then we easily walked back to our hotel. Everyone in our party thought the evening was exceptional and we highly recommend Hy's for your evening out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“When you want something VERY special.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is where we locals go when we want to have a very special celebration. I've been going for 20 years and it never fails to impress. It's not cheap but it is absolutely heavenly. Amazing ambience. Like an old English manor house -- all wood and bookshelves and crisp linen tablecloths. They cook the steaks and seafood over an open grill in a copper cauldron. Everything is grilled over Hawaiian kiawe wood and behind enclosed glass so that, if you are sitting in the main room, you can watch your meal being prepared but never smell the smoke. If you are sitting in the library (also great), Audy Kimura plays soft guitar. He's a legend around Hawaii. I understand that there is a garden, too, but in 20 years I've never been in it. It's hard to order anything but the steak because they are absolutely amazing, My mother always gets the rack of lamb, very hard to come by in Hawaii. And my husband, who doesn't eat red meat, swears by their seafood which is constantly changing and is always wonderful. This is not your regular dinner joint. This is where you go when you want something VERY special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HonoluluKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth going back again & again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

A birthday celebration was in order for my fetching wife, and her mom decided to treat us to dinner at Hy's Steak house. Once we arrived her mom confessed that what she really wanted was the Lobster. Well, she wasn't disappointed. Usually she can't finish her entree but this time she cleaned the plate. A huge fresh lobster with garlic mash potatoes and a side of vegetables. She was in heaven. I decided to start off with an appetizer of Nori wrapped Ahi Katsu roll. Tender Ahi with a panko like coating. Delicious. I had the 9oz New York Steak rare with a baked potato and a side of vegetables, and for the birthday girl...what else but Rack of Lamb. They cut the rack at your table and serve it with your choice of starch, vegetables and mint jelly. That went fast!! As we were listening to smooth music by the in house musician Audy Kimura, the waiter dressed in a tuxedo presented the birthday girl with a free dessert. Really doesn't get any better than this. We always try and go to Hy's on special occasions as it's a special place to celebrate any occasion.. I can't wait for Mother's Day!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Incredible Service + Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I love steak and I fell in love with the Hy's franchise after my first visit in Honolulu.

The server was well trained and well spoken. He provided excellent service throughout our dinner.

The food was flavorful; I was surprised as how quickly our steaks came out and was worried that they were rushed but it was definitely one of the best steaks I have ever had!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ruby226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hy's Steak House - Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Hy's Steak House - Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing