We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONO(delicious) Chicken”

Ruth's Chris Steak House - Honolulu
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House - Honolulu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown Honolulu
Cross street: South Street
Transit: Directly across the street from the Waterfront Plaza/Restaurant Row complex.
Description: In 1965, Ruth Fertel mortgaged her home to buy a little steak house in New Orleans named Chris Steak House. After investing her life savings, she proudly added her name to the original. That's how the uniquely name Ruth's Chris Steak House was born. Ruth established this unique restaurant with no restaurant experience, but she vowed to treat every customer like a guest in her own home. And she clearly knew what steak lovers wanted - the very best beef. Today, as always, Ruth's Chris serves only the finest corn-fed Midwestern beef available, broiled in 1800-degree ovens designed by Ruth herself. The steaks are served sizzling on 500-degree plates so every bite is hot and delicious. And while steak is king, the menu also includes expertly executed seafood, lamb, pork, and poultry dishes, as well as classic appetizers, fresh salads, side dishes, and homemade desserts. The award-winning wine list features more than 250 world-class international and domestic labels. Whatever the occasion, Ruth's Chris Steak House is the perfect spot to gather. Unparalleled cuisine, sumptuous surroundings and service that's accomplished yet never fussy - these are the elements of memorable special events.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
776 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“ONO(delicious) Chicken”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Seems a popular place; this restaurant row waterfront place was packed. The service was excellent and my chicken breast was ONO, ONO, ONO (delicious x 3). We shared the sides and desserts family style as they were huge! AND, ONO!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DYA717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    75
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not The Best Ruth's Chris I've Been To”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I lived on Oahu for awhile and went to this location twice. I lived in Las Vegas before that and went to the two locations there relatively often. And let me say, I love Ruth's Chris. The filet is always (almost*) cooked perfectly. I've also eaten at the location at the Mauna Lani shops in Waikoloa a number of times.

This location (Ala Moana) is the only one that I have had a less than great experience. The steaks came out overdone and the service lacks. I feel like this one is made for business meals not a real family or date night.

If you're reading this you probably already like Ruth's Chris. I'm suggesting you try the other location (Lewers) or another steakhouse. Hy's is fantastic.

It could be that the problems have been fixed now. I hope that's the case. I tried it twice with a significant amount of time in between (about 1 year) and had the same experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“As Usual... AMAZING!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

normally go here without the kids, and have a great time with my wife... this time had no choice... had to eat here and take the kids... went over well. they have a great kids menu and the waiters are great with kids.

food was amazing as normal. never had a bad meal here before, and this time was no different. Well done Tani, Tyson and Micah.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great steaks, but not cheap. Salad was huge, should have shared it with a friend. No mud pie on the dessert list. Waikiki location has a great mud pie. Waikiki location also has an upbeat vibe that this location lacks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Private Dining Review - Thank you Ruth Chris”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Note, this review is for our Private Dining experience at the Ruth Chris in Honolulu. My wife and I got married in February in Hawaii and chose Ruth Chris for our wedding dinner. Traci was very responsive to email prior to the event, which made planning stress free. On the day of our wedding, we arrived to a friendly staff, and immediately knew the dinner would be incredible. The private dining room was perfect in size, with rose petals spread across the table. Our server, Chris, was by far one of the best servers we have encountered. He was professional, had a sense of humor, timed the various courses perfectly, and had an excellent knowledge of wine. A huge thank you to Chris for making our dinner a truly memorable experience. Our guests continue to talk about the dinner - the food was outstanding, wine excellent, and service top notch!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BMac1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House - Honolulu also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House - Honolulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing