We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pizza fit for a princess...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #133 of 2,210 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Ala Moana - Kakaako
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Pizza fit for a princess...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

We took our 6 year old daughter here for her birthday dinner.

It was busy and we had an hour's wait before we were seated, which we used to check out the shops (note: the pagers don't work outside the immediate 4/f area of the Ala Moana shopping centre.)

Once seated, the service was lovely from Brooke. The pizzas were wood-fired and just fine - both the deep pan and the thin crust ones. We had a couple of decent glasses of wine. Free refills on 'sodas'.

California Pizza Kitchen is unlikely to change your life, but it is very good at what it does. You will leave with a full tummy, having enjoyed the food on the way down. Price-wise it is about average.

Overall, recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    142
    45
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“California here I come!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

As a farewell dinner for our last night in Honolulu we took the family to the California Pizza Kitchen at the Ala Moana Centre on the 4th level, just opposite Bubba Gumps. We were a group of seven, and knowing how busy the place is at dinner time, I got there early (5.30 pm) to secure a table. Even then, for a Thursday night, I was advised the wait could be up to an hour and a half, however, a place became available after 35 minutes. It's not a bad spot to sit and wait anyhow, with lots of action happening in the nearby bar and people coming and going on a pleasant warm evening. Anyhow, the family was rounded up and in we went. We organised a special surprise with the staff for my wife's birthday and they kept that secret until the right time. we got a booth table which was great and from the beginning, the staff were terrific.They were very attentive,organised drinks (Mai Tais and Blue Hawaiians from $7.00. Fantastic prices compared to Australia and there were plenty of other cocktails, beers, wines and spirits to choose from as well), explained the menu and helped our two vegans choose suitably. The food and drinks came out promptly, but in between we were able to see over Waikiki on one side and watch the passing parade of people outside on the other. The setting is contemporary, with timber furnishings and a local Hawaiian theme throughout, with the open view to the kitchen allowing you to see the pizzas being made and going into and coming out of the oven. Lighting was good, not to dark or glaring, and the menu selection was more than just pizza. There were different breads and pasta dishes, seafood, poultry, meat and vegetarian selections, a great range of pizzas of course, plenty of salads and a full choice of appetisers. Desserts were pretty good too, with the range including Key lime Pie and coconut ice cream. Yum. The surprise birthday cake came out and the staff joined in singing happy birthday. All up it was a great experience, very reasonably priced and something to please our 12 to 20 year olds. Get there early to get a table, great for all ages and lovely food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A real delight. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Visited twice in one week I found this restaurant a real delight. Great pizzas, fresh salads and service is great. They also have a selection of children meals.

Helpful?
Thank yedigovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
124 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We dropped by here for lunch. We ended up sharing a pizza between the two of us. The place was busy but the service was prompt. The complimentary bread and olive oil was a nice touch.
Ended up ordering a Hawaiian pizza. It wasn't a greasy pizza. It was really nice. The waiter we had was very nice and efficient.

I liked the atmosphere, it has an open kitchen design where you can watch the chefs prepare the pizzas and fire them in the ovens.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_nz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

California Pizza Kitchen is a great place to eat - they have nice fresh pizzas and delicious pasta dishes. We dined here the first time because we couldnt be bothered waiting an hour to get a seat in the Cheesecake Factory across the road. We ended up going back again to the California Pizza Kitchen - it was a nice atmosphere, friendly service and reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jez-a-lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing