We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Waikiki” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vive Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Waikiki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Vive is a lovely boutique hotel in a really convenient location. In just a few minutes we were able to walk to the beach, the zoo, many shops, restaurants and more. The lobby is welcoming and modern and the staff makes you feel so welcome - not only when you check in, but each time you come in the lobby. Jacqueline was the perfect concierge -- make sure you ask for her. I understand this hotel has just been completely renovated -- and every detail has been thought of. The sleeping rooms are comfortable and the showers are huge! We really appreciated the free Wi-Fi and free continental breakfast. Make sure you inquire about the shuttle service to and from the airport, Pearl Harbor, etc. -- much cheaper than a cab. If our plans allow for another trip to Honolulu we will definitely stay at Vive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jls12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    667
    163
    28
    11
See reviews for
272
1,336
178
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Took a tour of this property as it has just opened after a complete makeover. Result was a stylish three star property that could hold its own in Paris or Manhattan and a fresh addition to the Waikiki hotel scene.
Hotel starts above in house parking facility on seventh floor. Most all standard rooms have queen size beds, though there are some twins. While on the small size at 225 square feet, the rates are good for such an inviting comfy room. Prices increase with the view and height of floor.
Kuhio Avenue is not beachfront so any ocean views are partial.
The well priced king bedded junior suites, while oddly oblong in shape, were spacious for Waikiki at 390 square feet. The bathrooms are much larger, with a huge walk in shower.
Breakfast is included and beach chairs. towels, and boogey boards are complimentary.
Air conditioners are new window units. Junior suites had two.
None of the rooms had a lanai. Otherwise the property is a solid trendy choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Why you should stay here:

1) Magic Mike-like sexy valet boys ^o^

2) Free breakfast; local fruits, pastries and kona coffee

3) Central location in Waikiki; local restaurants, high-end shops, gym, bars, grocery stores, sex shop and a church ; ) - rainbow friendly

4) Spacious, modern rooms, well appointed decor, with views to die for; ocean, city, mountain, volcano (comfy bed and soft-clean linens)

5) Friendly and knowledgable staff (shout out to Beverly, Jacquelyn, Jeff and "Laura"-inside joke)

---- This will be my hotel of choice upon my return to Oahu!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nursingjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice modern lobby very cozy and comfortable with free wifi for the guests, Free breakfast buffet unlimited bread basket, fresh fruits coffee or tea. You can also borrow beach towels, beach chair, body board and the staff are friendly

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rk5rk5rk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Cons (we'll get the bad out of the way): Small rooms. Ridiculously shallow sink (simply spitting toothpaste causes a tsunami backwash that sprays the room!). 15th floor was not high enough to avoid the stench of the street below (a kind of Bourbon Street funk, if you know what that is, mixed with the cloying scent of coconut tanning oil). They lost power twice while I was there (though it was quickly restored). "Ocean view" blocked by UGLY concrete buildings reminiscent of 1950s soviet-bloc construction. Parking is ONLY valet and expensive @ $25/night, plus valet tip. GIGANTIC chicken bone in the breakfast pastry. Waikiki Beach isn't really a beach! Pros: Good price for the area. Recent renovation. Friendly staff. Beautiful lobby. Free fruit/pastry/juice/coffee breakfast. Free loaner beach gear. 2 blocks to beach. Really comfy bed -- I mean, really comfy. Easy access to restaurants, etc. Park for only $20/day directly across street w/easy in & out. Overall, the hotel was probably one of the better things about the Waikiki area (which I quickly realized was not my cup of tea). You have to try to udon noodle house just down the street on the same side of the street as the hotel -- Murakame Noodle House was perhaps the name? Find it by the presence of the line out the door.......

Room Tip: Try for a room higher than the 15th floor. Avoid the chicken breakfast pastry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phoenix_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would be lying if I said this was a five-star hotel, but the service is definitely top notch. My wife and I travel so much we wanted to save some money by choosing some less pricey hotels. This hotel does not have nice amenities and the windows in the rooms are not large. The rooms are clean and the cleaning ladies are thorough. The hotel has been renovated recently so it has a very stylish look. The hotel does not have room service, which is something I usually love to have in my hotels. I did not miss it, because of the service we got here and there are so many great restaurants within walking distance. This hotel is in close proximity to the beach. The hotel provides a continental breakfast that has pastries and fruit. All of the workers here were very informed about Waikiki and the entire island of Oahu. They were also very polite and helpful with everyday things in the hotel. This hotel has boogie boards, beach chairs, and beach towels that they will loan out to you when you go out to the beach. The valet was nice enough to pack the items for us in our car as well as return them for us to the front desk when we returned. The last day of our trip my wife and I were very sick, so we did not get to explore before we left. The hotel offers a courtesy room you can stay in before flights after check-out. My wife and I were able to rest before our flight. It was such a nice and courteous gesture that my wife and I decided that The Vive Hotel will be our choice next time we return to Waikiki.

Room Tip: If you want to see the beach from your room, you will also have to deal with hearing the street tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kscorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was really blown away with the level of service at this hotel. Throughout my one week stay, the staff at the VIVE, specifically the concierge were extremely helpful in planning activities and answering questions about the area - they truly went above and beyond to accomodate me. For example, Jacqueline at the concierge desk went through the trouble of arranging a car rental and planning an itinerary of activities for me throughout the week.

Aside from the service, VIVE is newly renovated and miles ahead in quality of other hotels in the area - most hotels on Waikiki (especially in this price range) are run-down and falling apart. Several other reviews cite how small the rooms are, but in truth I prefer a new, modern/clean room to one that is larger and dated. Overall, VIVE is a great value compared with other hotels in the area, and the personalized service is a huge plus. I'm sure I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thelordbarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#14 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vive Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vive Hotel Waikiki

Property: Vive Hotel Waikiki
Address: 2426 Kuhio Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vive Hotel Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Vive Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vive Hotel Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing