We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood in casual atmosphere”
Review of Raging Crab

Raging Crab
Ranked #271 of 2,389 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood in casual atmosphere”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a chance to eat delicious crab legs and crabs prepared in exceptional different manner.
Place was casual and inviting. Staff was very nice and attentive.
Can't wait to go back when I return with my family this coming June.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hermenegildo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“had a great time - very unformal familiplace with good seafood”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we was recommended this place by a "local" - and was absolutly not dissapointed. Actually the only restaurant in Honolulu we went back to !
The secound time we ordered with the stongest spice - and that was perhaps a bit to strong for european tast. had a fantastic "happy hour"

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawai'i
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Yay, I'm a fan!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I LOVE seafood so I was so excited to try this place. I and the rest of my party were so happy we went! Arrived at 8:30pm on Saturday night. Waited about 20 minutes to be seated. (They don't take reservations unless you have a "fairly large" party is what I was told when calling.)

Atmosphere:
Plain and bright interior. A bit cramped. There's a convenient hand washing station inside the restaurant (bathrooms are shared with other tenants in the strip mall.)

Food:
Captain's special - We opted for dungeness crab, cajun style with mild spice. Comes mixed up in a plastic bag covered in the cajun sauce. Whole dungeness, corn on the cobs, slices of sausage, head-on shrimp and mussels, with a side of cajun crinkle fries. The mild spice is pretty spicy so don't get too brave if you're not a spice head. We opted for more corn on the cobs instead of rice. Perfect size for 2 peeps but not 3.

King crab legs - Got 1 lb. in the same mild cajun sauce. The three of us finished everything!

Crab chowder - Not thick and creamy like a clam chowder but more on the lines of a corn chowder with crab chunks. Flavor was too mild.

Service:
Our female server was very informative, attentive and pleasant.

Overall:
Prices are great, food is great and it's a big 'ol fun mess! Use the bib, lose the gloves.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Awesome - had a great time”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Ate here late February 2013 with a Groupon. It included Snow crab, clams, shrimp, corn and sausage for two, a fried basket (we got the shrimp with Cajun fries), drinks for two and a large shave ice for dessert. It was really good value and we left feeling pleasantly full.
We had to wait for about 30 minutes outside to get a table (well worth it) after putting our name down inside (it was about 8pm on a Saturday night). There were quite a lot of people waiting so a bit more seating outside would have been nice. It is located more or less across from Wal-Mart and down the block from Ross.
Inside we were lucky to be seated at a table for 4 near the window so it wasn't too squishy with only the two of us. We handed in the voucher, ordered what type of fried basket, seasoning (Raging Cajun) and spice level (spicy) we wanted, indicated if we wanted gloves or not (we did), and waited for the food to come whilst tying on the supplied plastic bibs. We have not eaten at a restaurant like this before (as we don't have anything similar in Australia that I know of) and weren't too sure what to expect.
The fried basket was a serving of Cajun seasoned fried shrimp and fries in a plastic basket. These were very tasty and would make a great snack or even light meal for someone. The Snow crab, clams, shrimp, corn and sausage (diagonally cut oval shaped slices not whole) were served in a large plastic bag with the seasoning and spices shaken all through the food. It was all served hot and fresh and was absolutely delicious. I would say 'finger licking good' even with plastic gloves on.
The restaurant has thick paper 'table cloths', plastic bibs, and everything on the table (bar the plastic baskets) is disposable so you can make as big a mess as you want and it doesn't matter. At the end of the meal the paper 'table cloth' is simply wrapped up with everything in it and thrown away before the table is cleaned ready for the next diner. We just made a pile of the shells on one side of the table although I believe some tables get a bucket lined with a plastic bag for the rubbish. The 'mess' doesn't seem to go through the paper on to the table as it looked like it had a greaseproof layer on the underside of the paper cloth.
After we had finished eating everything we were asked what we would like with the shave ice dessert (choices included different flavours, ice cream and condensed milk). We were boring and chose the strawberry flavour with ice cream. It was the perfect dessert for the meal as it was light, refreshing and palate cleansing.
The only thing I would have liked that wasn't supplied was a moist towelette/wet wipe to clean my hands and face after the meal (there is supposed to be a sink somewhere you can use but a disposable wipe each wouldn't go astray).
At the time of our visit, they were advertising Happy Hours in the late afternoon with $1 beers and $5 snacks.
Overall, there wasn't a single thing we didn't like the taste of and if we could, we would eat there regularly as it was so good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raging Crab also viewed

 

Been to Raging Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing